Blogger Recognition Award

I was tagged for the Blogger Recognition Award by Rabbit Ears Productions Blog, thank you so much for that! It was originally created by Edge of Night. I’m a bit late with this and I have a few other tags and awards to post, but don’t worry, I’m not ignoring you if you’ve tagged me for something, I’m just a bit slow!


Rules:

  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
  • Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post. 
  • Make sure to also attach the award itself
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.
  • Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night.

My blog:

Well, my wordpress blog is just over a month old now, but I’ve had various blogs elsewhere through the years but I only posted every once in a while. I created this blog because I’d become obsessed with the book community on youtube and I really wanted my own platform to talk about books, but talking on camera isn’t for me so blogging it is! 

I first made a blogger blog, finished it and spent two whole days on customizing the layout and fiddling with the html and css, but in the end I wasn’t really feeling it so I made a wordpress blog too, just to see if I would like it better. Even though you can’t customize as much with a free wordpress blog as you can on blogger, I still liked it better so I disabled the blogger and went with this. 

Advice:

This blog is still pretty new so I don’t know if I have much to contribute with in this department yet, but I always emphasize the importance of community no matter what you’re doing. I’ve written fanfiction for years, and the community is very important there too. I made sure to start talking to people on the very first day I made this blog, because you can only really grow by becoming a part of the community. Plus, it’s a lot more fun when you can talk about books with someone and you’re not just talking to a wall in your own little bubble. 

I also think it’s important for new blogs to post stuff fairly often, otherwise people might forget who you are because they don’t know you yet. 

When it comes to layouts I really prefer blogs where the sidebar(s) don’t take up the entire page. I see this a lot with blogs on blogger, where they have two very wide sidebars that makes the posts themselves really slim. It’s distracting to the eye, especially if they’ve got a lot of things in the sidebars that makes the blog seem very busy. 

And bright colored backgrounds or bright colored text is a no-no. Especially bright backgrounds with bright text. Neon pink on neon green. Shudder. I’ve seen some blogs like that and it gives me a headache and there’s no way I can be bothered to read that. So try to make your blog readable. 

However, the most important thing is that you have fun. If it’s not fun then it’s no good!

Nominations:

I’m not tagging 15 people because I’m going to try to nominate people that haven’t been nominated for this before so that’s a bit of work, but a few are better than none! If I accidentally tag someone who’s already done it you can ignore it, no problem! 

Maria @ Marwhal
Jessica @ Mud and Stars
Skylee @ The Night Girl
Katie @ Into the Bookcase
Sara @ Freadom Library

3 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Marwhal says:

    Awesome!! Thank you for tagging me! I will get to this ASAP!

    I absolutely agree with you regarding the importance of community — there’s no point in having a blog if you’re not giving comments as well as receiving them. I’m super new to this community but I love how supportive and engaging everyone is.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

