Book Traveling Thursday #5 | A Book with My OTP

It’s Thursday and time for another Book Traveling Thursday. This weekly meme was created by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. Visit their Goodreads group to learn more about Book Traveling Thursday 🙂

The rules are to share covers related to the weekly theme where you include the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite, and your least favorite.


.

.

This week’s theme is a book with your OTP in it. For those who might not know for some reason, OTP stands for One True Pairing, that one couple you love more than anything else. 

So my OTP is actually Ron and Hermione, especially when it comes to books. I’ll be very impressed the day anything tops that. But because I’m an idiot who doesn’t read ahead what the topics are, I did a Harry Potter book last week. So because I don’t feel like doing another one this week I’ll have to pick another book. 

I don’t often fall hard for any pairings in books, not the same way I do with TV shows. But maybe I haven’t read enough books with really good couples in them, I don’t know. Anyway, I’ll go with Caine and Diana from Michael Grant’s GONE series. I don’t remember exactly what happened in which book, but I’ll go with the third book, Lies.

These two are really messed up, both of them. If you read my favorite fictional characters post you know my weakness for that stuff. This is a really really dysfunctional couple but they love each other the best they can, and that’s why I was intrigued by them when I read these books a couple years ago. 

ORIGINAL COVER(s)

6686092  7884235

Apparently these came out on the same day? It’s the US cover and the UK one. I much much prefer the UK ones (I own them all) because no one likes random models smacked on covers. Plus the sides of the pages are colored the same way as the text, so that looks cool too. The US one doesn’t tell you anything about the story at all, but if you look closely at the other one you see there’s a figure there with a whip for a hand, so it tells you something.

COVER FROM NORWAY

Ugghhh, why couldn’t they have picked the UK ones??? I hate everything about it. The font used for the author name and title are both horrendous (same goes for the original of course).

These books don’t even have movie adaptations so why make book covers that look like it does? No thank you. 

.

.

.

Favorite COVER(S)

22858126

Ahhh, this is awesome. I love it. It seems to be the eBook cover, but correct me if I’m wrong. If this cover is only for ebooks then what a waste, I’d love to own them all in this edition just because they look awesome. 

Edit: Michael Grant informed me that these are indeed physical books too, as they should be! Look at them, they’re fabulous. 

21940217

I really love this one too. It was published by Hardie Grant Egmont in 2014 and that seems to be an Australian publisher? I think so. Good on you Australia, I like this. It’s simple, like the original, but still nice to look at. 

LEAST FAVORITE COVER

13303558

The original isn’t good, but this Lithuanian cover is truly awful. In addition to having people on the cover the photoshop job looks half-assed at best and the lighting is terrible. No thank you, try again. At least these kids look the right age though, unlike the original cover where they seem to be in their early 20s. But that’s not enough to salvage this mess. 

.

.

.

.

What do you think? 🙂 

See you next Thursday with more goodies and more photoshop failures! 

6 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday #5 | A Book with My OTP

Leave a Comment

