March 2017 Wrap-Up

wumarch17

It’s April already! How did that happen? It’s still winter where I live, but hopefully it’ll be spring soon because I’m really feeling like spring. 

The titles take you to the book’s Goodreads page or my review if I have one. 


books-read

13722526The Nightmare

by Lars Kepler

Lars Kepler is a Swedish couple writing under one pseudonym, and this is the second book from them that I’ve read. Scandinavians really like detective fiction. I liked it, especially the beginning, but it lost me a bit towards the end. I prefer my crime stories to be “smaller” if that makes sense, more personal. The moment it’s about some big corporations or businesses or something like that I’m like eh. 

2/5 stars



Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3)
Blue Lily, Lily Blue

by Maggie Stiefvater

I don’t have much to say about this series that I haven’t already said. I love it. I love the characters so much. My favorite is still Gansey, I don’t know, he’s just charmed the hell out of me. Ronan is a close second and Ronan is more my type of character, so usually this character would be my number one, but I don’t know, I’m so weak for Gansey??? I really had to emotionally prepare myself for the next book. 

5/5 stars

.



1394491The Stonekeeper

by Kazu Kabuishi

This is the first book in the graphic novel series Amulet. It’s one of the series we sell most of at work, so I figured I had to try it out. It actually reminded me a bit of the series W.I.T.C.H. and that made me incredibly happy because that was my favorite thing as an 11-12 year old. I feel very safe recommending this to kids. Gorgeous art and fast-paced story. 

4/5 stars

.


6277410The Stonekeeper’s Curse
by Kazu Kabuishi

The second installment is still good, but I preferred the first a little bit more. I’d like to continue the series sometime though. I had a lot of feelings over some old trees. 

3.5/5 stars

.

.


25394092The Raven King
by Maggie Stiefvater

I can’t believe I actually finished a series, that’s so rare for me. While something about this conclusion didn’t quite live up to the last three books, that doesn’t change the fact that this is still one of my all-time favorite series. I admit I saw this ending kind of coming from the beginning, but hey, I’m fine with that. I’ll probably end up writing a combined review of book 3 and 4. 

4/5 stars

.


30988092Norse Mythology
by Neil Gaiman

I listened to this on audio, and it was a lot of fun. As someone who grew up with these stories there isn’t a lot of new information here, but I was still entertained. Norse mythology is incredibly interesting and the stories are fun. If you don’t know much about Norse mythology then this is definitely a good place to start because. Neil Gaiman stayed very true to the original stories, as far as I can tell, so it’s an informative and accurate retelling from creation to ragnarok. 

4/5 stars

started-reading

280217He Who Fears the Wolf
by Karin Fossum

More Scandinavian detective fiction. I’m listening to this on audio. I’ve always loved Fossum’s crime stories, they’re more the kind I like. 

.

.

.


31575528Goodbye Days
by Jeff Zentner

Okay so I’ve been reading this for a while now, but I’m not being slow because I don’t like it. I’m really enjoying it, I just haven’t had a lot of time to read since I picked it up. I’m going to finish it soon though! 

reviews

Here’s what I reviewed in March. It’s not as much as I wanted, but better than nothing. 

other-posts

Tags and memes

Miscellaneous

Haha, wow, my blogging was pretty bad in March. Oh well! My reading was pretty decent at least. 

Yesterday I binged an entire anime in one day though, and I can’t remember the last time I did that, it must be years ago. So I’m pretty happy with that LOL. 


Tell me about the best and worst book you read in March! Have you read any of the ones I read? 

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram |

8 thoughts on “March 2017 Wrap-Up

  1. Soudha Parsan (Of Stacks and Cups) says:

    You’ve read a lot of interesting stuff last month ^^ I love the Raven Boys and while the Raven King wasn’t exactly my favorite in the series, it kind of ended the series in a nice place. I would have liked a little more epicness though. Did you hear that we might be getting a trilogy on Ronan?? I personally don’t mind getting more books from that universe haha. Also, W.I.T.C.H was one of my favorite series growing up! I think it’s the first time I see a fellow book blogger even mention it XD.

    My latest post: The Beauty and the Beast Book Tag (Original)

    Like

  2. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Really glad you enjoyed Amulet and The Raven Cycle ♥ I’m up to the 4th book in the Amulet series and I think it definitely picks back up! I definitely agree that the ending felt a little open, but then there was something about it that just suited the tone of the entire serious with it’s vagueness, haha.

    Like

Leave a Comment

