February 2017 Wrap-Up

wufeb17

This month was yet another good reading month. I think it’s a good idea to start the year strong, that way I can afford some slumps later. 

The titles take you to the book’s Goodreads page or my review if I have one. 


books-read

25615902George
by Alex Gino

This is a middle grade book about a trans girl named George who’s dying to play Charlotte in the school’s production of Charlotte’s Web. I listened to this on audio, and it was wonderful. I love that George knows all along who she is and that she’s trans, it’s just a matter of getting other people to understand  that she’s a girl. 

5/5 stars

.


26836003Orbiting Jupiter
by Gary D. Schmidt

Oh man, open the flood gates. This is another short middle grade novel, but the themes are mature and this easily slides into young adult/teen territory. I won’t say much about what it’s about here, but you can read my review of the ARC if you’re interesting. It’s an incredibly emotional book that will leave you in a pile on the floor screaming WHYYYY. 

4.5/5 stars

.



17465574Blue Is the Warmest Color
by Julie Maroh

I’ve been wanting to read this graphic novel for years and years, and I finally decided to just order it. The art style is beautiful and so is the story. It’s about a teenaged girl called Clementine who falls in love with the beautiful, confident and blue haired Emma. The story starts out when Emma is in her thirties and Clementine has just passed away, then it moves backwards in time to how they met. There are some things I would’ve liked to see done differently, I really didn’t want there to be Dead Lesbians, but overall it was worth the purchase and I appreciated their story. I won’t see the movie though, it makes me so uncomfortable to hear how the actors felt filming it and what the author thinks about it. Nope. Won’t touch the movie. 

4/5 stars


23275686Svøm med dem som drukner
by Lars Mytting

This is a Norwegian book about a young man who grew up with his grandfather, and who tries to uncover the truth about how and why his parents died in the woods in France when he was just 4 years old, and why he himself disappeared for several days only to show up again somewhere else. I really liked the writing style and the first half of the book, but then it started dragging a bit and I started losing interest. 

3.5/5 stars


27883214Caraval
by Stephanie Garber

Ugh. If you read my review of this you already know my thoughts on it. I found this extremely overrated and overrhyped, with too little magic and way too much (creepy) insta-lovey romance. Overall it was just bad. However, I did like the twist near the end, it was the only interesting thing about this book. 

2/5 stars

.
.


18143977All the Light We Cannot See
by Anthony Doerr

I listened to this on audio, which I think was a good choice for me because I find books like this quickly lose me if I’m reading them as there’s not much action and things happening all the time. This is beautifully written and the characters are superb. I particularily enjoyed Marie-Laure’s POV. 

4/5 stars

.


24686535Bird Box
by Josh Malerman

!!! This was so good!!! I was into it from the first page to the very last. This was such a page-turner and I recommend it to anyone who loves survival type things ala The Walking Dead. It’s an apocalyptic story where there’s something out there that you can’t look at, because if you do you will violently attack others before violently killing yourself. The characters don’t know what’s out there and neither do we. They can’t look outside, and if they do go outside they do it blindfolded. It’s super creepy, because without sight, anything is potential danger. Was that a leaf brushing against your shoulder or is there something behind you…?

5/5


26236898More Happy Than Not
by Adam Silvera

The flood gates are open once again! Goddamn, this was sad. I already knew it was sad, but I didn’t know what kind of sad. The entire last half of the book made my entire body ache and the last chapter or so just broke me. It was amazing, I loved it so much. I’m in desperate need of a fix-it sequel though. 

4.5/5 stars

started-reading

22978079Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3)
by Maggie Stiefvater

UGH. This series is too damn addictive. I have about 100 pages left and I know for a fact that I’m going straight to the last book after this. Everyone is a precious cinnamon roll who I want 500 books about. 

 

reviews

Here’s what I reviewed this month. I still have a lot to catch up on but I’m getting there. 

other-posts

Tags and memes

Miscellaneous


Tell me about the best and worst book you read in February! Have you read any of the ones I read? 

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram |

12 thoughts on “February 2017 Wrap-Up

    • Anette Reads says:

      I definitely see why they’re some of your favorites! And I definitely recommend Bird Box, I loved it so much. It’s probably going to be on my favorite list at the end of the year.

      Like

  1. Julia Byers says:

    Wow February really was a good reading month for you! Awesome! I read several books, but none of the newly-reads (oh that’s cute, it should be a thing) were overly exciting. I guess “The Vixen and the Vet” was the best of them, and “All the Way” was the worst (Apparently I went through a romance*smut* phase this month).

    Like

  2. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Looks like you had a relatively good reading month, all things considered! Caraval also let me down, but I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed George and More Happy Than Not. George, particularly, is so underrated. ❤

    Hope you like The Raven King when you finish Blue Lily, Lily Blue! That book was my least favourite out of the four, but it's still a pretty good conclusion to the series.

    Like

    • Anette Reads says:

      You’re right, George is definitely underrated. It was such a sweet book ❤ I just finished BLLB yesterday and only barely started The Raven King 😀 I can't wait to get more into it. I've seen more people say it's their least favorite, so we'll see!

      Like

      • Reg @ She Latitude says:

        I think for me The Raven King was just… too much of the same thing? Like I was expecting more from a conclusion, but it just felt rather average, if that makes sense. I hope you like it, though!

        Like

Leave a Comment

