Good, but not memorable: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab [Review]

23299512This Savage Song by Victoria (V.E.) Schwab
Series: Monsters of Verity #1
First published in June 2016 by Greenwillow Books
Tags: Young AdultFantasy

Buy: Amazon | Book Depository | B&N 

Source: Purchased

Rating:  photo three stars_zpsohkkn6ww.png

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.


Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

I don’t know how long this review will be, because I honestly don’t have that much to say. I have a very on-again-off-again relationship with V.E. Schwab. I gave Vicious a glowing 5 star review, it’s one of my all-time favorites and everyone should read it, but A Darker Shade of Magic bored me to tears. 

This Savage Song, it seems, sits firmly in the middle. Not bad, but not great either. I was a little disappointed because I had high hopes for it. It definitely wasn’t a waste of time though and I see potential in it as a series, but I’m not going to rush to pick up the next one. I didn’t find it be particularly memorable. I mean, certain parts were, like the whole idea behind how monsters are created for example. I liked that a lot, I haven’t seen that explanation anywhere before but it made sense in this world. That part was really intriguing. 

Speaking of the monsters, there are three types of monsters in this world, Corsai, Sunai, and Malchai, and through the entire book I kept reading Malchai as “Malachai”. I was almost finished with the book when I realized I’d been reading it wrong. Goddamn it, Supernatural. Though I do have to say I prefer my version, lol. 

Moving on the the characters. They’re quite bland. I don’t remember anything about them except the main female character (I don’t ever remember her name) has bangs that covers one of her eyes. Yes, that’s the one thing I remember. She also has a very strict father. What I remember of the guy is that he’s one of the rarest kinds of monsters (and the most dangerous?) and his part of the city is in conflict with the girl’s part of the city. They’re both members of two opposing families.

After copy-pasting the synopsis into my post I was reminded that their names are Kate Harker and August Flynn. Now you know.  I remember liking August when I read it back in August (lol), but in hindsight, which counts of course, but… eh. Who is he again? 

Anyway, this sounds like the set-up for a romance, but it’s not. I appreciated that. In short, it’s a Romeo and Juliet story without the romance. Hallelujah. 

I know a lot of people love this book, so if you think it sounds interesting then definitely go for it. It didn’t fully captivate me, but maybe it’ll captivate you. 

I know this review was short but I couldn’t think of anything more to say :/

me before you review blog


.
Have you read This Savage Song? How’d you like it? What’s your favorite V.E. Schwab book? 
.
.
Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram
8 thoughts on “Good, but not memorable: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab [Review]

  1. Joce says:

    It’s good to hear that they’re not going to only play the romance card in this book, because I hate that…. I still don’t know if I’ll give it a try though, because when the main characters aren’t developed/interesting, I lose interest quickly

    Like

  2. Di @ Book Reviews by Di says:

    I really want to read this one! I haven’t managed to read anything by Schwab yet and her books are so super hyped. I’ve seen a few mediocre ratings on her books which is good – because then it helps me not to expect toooo much (although with the hype this is always tough!).

    Thanks for the honest review!

    Like

    • Anette Reads says:

      The hype is definitely real when it comes to Schwab! I’d recommend starting with Vicious, because it’s my personal favorite and I found it so amazing. But you should go with the one you think sounds most interesting 😀 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Comment

