Top 5 Wednesday (14) | Awesome First Sentences

top 5 wednesday

It’s been a while since I’ve done a T5W but I felt like I could answer this topic, so yay. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @ gingerreadslainey and is currently hosted by Sam @ ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to join Top 5 Wednesday take a look at the Goodreads group!

The topic of today is 

August 17th: Favorite First Sentences
— Pretty self-explanatory. Favorite first sentences of a book.

This topic was difficult for me because I only really remember two, maybe three, first sentences and only one of them is going on this list. So what I ended up doing was going through the books I have here at home and I picked the openings I like best. So these are probably not my “all-time favorites” but who cares. They’re good ones anyway. 


 warm bodiest5w quotes4t5w quotes3

please ignore vera dietz

philosopher's stone first sentence

.


Who doesn’t love the opening of Philosopher’s Stone?? It’s the only one I know by heart, apart from Pride and Prejudice

.
What’s your favorite opening? Do you like any of the ones I picked? 
 .
Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram
7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday (14) | Awesome First Sentences

  1. Ellis Ferrell says:

    The lines from both Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Warm Bodies sound really interesting. I’ll have to check them out. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Shoto says:

    Daughter of Smoke and Bone has an amazing start! Must get to it soon 😀 Warm Bodies has also intrigued me after reading the first line…

    Like

  3. _giovannard says:

    Great Top 5! I’m loving the one for Please Ignore Vera Dietz. It’s been a while since I read it, but I do remember that I enjoyed it! 🙂 I never even thought to write down or mark the great first sentences in the books I’ve read, so this week’s topic was a little hard. I had to switch it up a bit 🙂 My T5W! 😀

    Like

Leave a Comment

