June 2016 Wrap-Up

wrapupjune

Hey, guys! I was away in the beginning of this month, so here’s my slightly late June wrap-up. I didn’t read as much this month as the last, but it doesn’t matter. I’m still relatively on track.


BOOKS READ

19480636Irène
by Pierre Lemaitre

The last part of this book caught me off guard. I loved it, it was quite an unique twist. I recommend this author if you’re into detective novels. 

4/5 stars

.

..


23353593Tokyo Ghoul volume 1
by Sui Ishida

Manga! I haven’t read manga in years, this made me very nostalgic. I decided to read this after I watched the first episode of the anime and then saw that people on MAL (My Anime List) weren’t impressed with the pacing compared to the manga. So I read the first one just to compare and it was good, but despite the anime being a little bit rushed I prefer to watch this type of story instead of reading them. I also prefer the art in the anime. 

3/5 stars

.


9835731The Hypnotist
by Lars Kepler

I listened to this on Storytel and it was pretty good. I’ll definitely read more of these, I’m especially looking forward to Stalker because I’ve heard it’s super creepy.

4/5 stars

.

.


17858051Shatter Me
Tahereh Mafi

Ohhh boy. This was a train wreck, the “can’t look away” kind of train wreck. I can’t wait to write the review.

1/5 stars

..

.


STARTED READING

Alex18039275
by Pierre Lemaitre

After finishing Irène last month, I moved onto the sequel. Most people seem to find this one a lot better than the first, and I think I agree. I’m only about 120 pages in, but the plot is already a lot more intense.

.

 


All the Light We Cannot See18143977
by Anthony Doerr

I hadn’t planned on starting this quite yet, but I stumbled upon the audiobook on Storytel and decided to start listening to it. It went a bit too slowly for me though, and I wasn’t too keen on the narrator, so I bought the physical book. Yay! Now I can get through it a lot faster. I’m enjoying it a lot this far.  

.
.


The Life List16127237
by Lori Nelson Spielman

This kind of feel-good chick-lit isn’t my cup of tea, but I’m reading it beause it’s the book of the month at the bookstore I work at. I’m enjoying it well enough though, even though I’m not really convinced a mother would do something like this. Because I’m listening to it on audio I can easily get through the entire novel, which I might not have had the patience for if I read it. I don’t even mind that I only have access to the Norwegian audiobook on Storytel, because I’m really enjoying the narrator. I still find myself chuckling at some of the translations, but overall it’s not bad.

..


Still reading

And I Darken27190613
by Kiersten White

I started this last month but it wasn’t my top priority so I didn’t finish it then. I’m about halfway through and I’ll be continuing it throughout the month. It’s not really something that you devour in one sitting, and least not for me. It’s interesting, but kind of dense and heavy on the history and politics.
.

.


Other posts written this month

Reviews

Memes

WWW Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday

Book Traveling Thursday

Other


That was a pathetic month as far as blogging goes LOL. 

What’s the best and worst book you read in June? Do tell! 

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram |

11 thoughts on “June 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. shelfiepodcast says:

    And I Darken was awesome. I can see where it would be a bit dense, but I really enjoyed it. We just finished recording our podcast discussion for it. Should be up next week. 😀

    Shatter Me, on the other hand, was like a train wreck. You can’t look away. That entire series was like that for me.

    Like

    • Anette Reads says:

      Yay, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’m not disliking it or anything, it’s just taking me a bit of time to get through.

      Shatter Me was terrible, but terrible in the way that makes you curious about the rest of the series. If I can find the second book really cheap then I might read it just because.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I’ve heard wonderful things about All the Light We Cannot See, but I’m definitely intimidated by it haha. I’m also really conflicted about whether or not I want to read And I Darken so I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts on that one. Also looking forward to your review on Shatter Me, haha.

    Like

    • Anette Reads says:

      I don’t think you should be intimidated by it, it’s a relatively easy read and because of the really short chapters it goes by fast too 😀 I think And I Darken will be perfect for fans of historical fiction, those who are into history and politics, because it’s definitely heavy on both of those aspects. It’s much harder to get through than All the Light, haha!

      Like

Leave a Comment

