The Diverse Books Tag

diverse books

Hey guys, how’s your summer going? Next week I’m going on a brief vacation, hopefully the weather is better there than here. I swear the arctic isn’t the place to be when you love summer. Anyway, let’s do a book tag! Thanks to Jenna @ Fictional Neverland for tagging me, I love this tag. 

Without further ado… 

A BOOK STARRING A LESBIAN CHARACTER

6334889

I have plenty of books with wlw main characters on my tbr but I haven’t gotten around to very many of them yet. I have to pick from a larger cast, so I’ll go with the Gone series by Michael Grant where the character Dekka is a lesbian (or at least interested in girls, I don’t remember if her orientation was specified), as well as African American. This series is a guilty pleasure of mine. It gets ridiculous at times, but I ate it all up. 

A BOOK WITH A MUSLIM PROTAGONIST

27190613

I can’t think of any books I’ve finished that has a Muslim protagonist, but I’m reading And I Darken right now and that applies. Mehmed is a Muslim, and if I know my history right then Radu eventually converts to Islam too. Nice coincidence right in time for this tag. 

A BOOK SET IN LATIN AMERICA

386336I’ve read a couple books by Jamaica Kincaid, like Annie John. It takes place in Antigua in the Caribbean. As far as I know the Caribbean counts as Latin America. 

A BOOK ABOUT A PERSON WITH A DISABILITY

822993

A Game of Thrones  by George R.R. Martin (thinking of Bran especially). Well, it’s definitely not “about” a person with disability, but since he has his own POV chapters I figured why not. I picked it because I’m excited for the season finale tomorrow and I really need to finish book 3 (I started it last summer, goddamn).

A SCIENCE-FICTION OR FANTASY BOOK WITH A POC PROTAGONIST

19358975

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples. I wanted to pick a different book for this, two different books actually, but because a mere mention of these characters would be spoilers I couldn’t really do that. So instead I’m going with this graphic novel series , it’s a diverse series in a lot of ways. Also can we talk about how beautiful the cover of volume 3 is, I love the composition and the colors and everything is just gorgeous. 

A BOOK WRITTEN BY AN INDIGENOUS OR NATIVE AUTHOR

13602426

The Round House by Louise Erdrich. As far as I know, this is the only book I’ve read that matches this description. The book itself is a YA coming of age story about a family living on a reservation and the trauma the protagonist’s mom goes through. 

A BOOK SET IN SOUTH ASIA

1226

I’ve read quite a few books set in India, not a lot of other places I don’t think. My favorite of the ones I’ve read is Life of Pi by Yann Martel. This book is a gem and I love everything about it, I inhaled it in pretty much one sitting. I feel like I should mention the runner up too, which is The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy. 

A BOOK WITH A BIRACIAL PROTAGONIST

15745753

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowel. Park is half-Korean and half-white. I know a lot of people tend to either love or hate this book, I’m definitely in the love camp. It’s cute and dysfunctional and overall an interesting story. I still desperately want a “ten years later” sequel. 

A Book Starring a Transgender Character or Transgender Issues

9464733

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray. This book is a wonderful piece of satirical social commentary about a group of pageant queens stranded on an island. Petra is a former famous boyband singer turned beauty queen and she’s amazing. A must-read for every dystopia loving and feminist bookworm. 


I tag:

As always, only do the tag if you feel like it 🙂 


Which of these have you read, if any? I’d love to read more books, especially YA, set somewhere other than in the US and the UK. If you know any you think I might like then I’d love some recs 😀 Also any good books with wlw main characters are welcome. 

Thanks for reading!

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

9 thoughts on “The Diverse Books Tag

  1. rattlethestarssite says:

    Thanks for the tag! I haven’t seen this one before! I think it’s great for highlighting amazing books and characters. I bought Saga a few weeks ago but haven’t started it yet. I can’t wait! 🙂

    Like

  2. jazzycliffhanger says:

    I love this post! I always love it when more awareness is brought towards diverse books! It’s so hard to find a good book, or more specifically in the YA genre, that has diversity beyond JUST that one character

    Like

  3. Read Diverse Books says:

    Hi, Lauren! I actually created this tag but it seems that it got lost in the shuffle. haha, it’s ok.:)

    I love your list! I will allow A Game of Thrones only because it’s my favorite book series EVER 😉
    The Round House and Life of Pie were both amazing. Great choices over all.

    Like

Leave a Comment

