Book Traveling Thursday (23) | My Summer Read

book traveling thursday meme
It’s Thursday and time for another Book Traveling Thursday. This weekly meme was created by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. Visit their Goodreads group to learn more about Book Traveling Thursday 🙂

The rules are to share covers related to the weekly theme where you include the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite, and your least favorite. I’ve decided to go for a top 3 and bottom 3 arrangement, because that’s more fun and I get to showcase more covers. 


This week’s theme is “a book you want to read this summer.” I’m planning on finally getting to I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I don’t know if the book itself is summery, but the title and cover is so it fits. 

ORIGINAL COVER

20820994

Simple and colorful, I love it. 

COVER(S) FROM NORWAY

jeg gir deg sola

Pretty much the same one. 

TOP 3 COVERS

i'll give you the sunLike I said I love the original, but I probably love the Portuguese one even more, at least the watercolor raindrops. I wish the text filled out the blank space more though. The UK cover is the one I have and it looks quite nice. 

BOTTOM 3 COVERS

i'll give you the sunI really don’t like the Polish one, close-ups of people on covers rarely work for me and this one has way to much text as well. The Russian one actually isn’t that bad (shocker!), I just wish it could’ve had a solid background instead of a photograph. The Serbian cover isn’t horrible either, but I had an extra spot and I had to pick the one I liked the least. 


Which cover’s your favorite? And what are you reading this summer?

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

Globe vector by Freepik
Book vector by Freepik

 

19 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday (23) | My Summer Read

  1. Chloe Thomas (@__chloot) says:

    I’ve never heard of this book before!
    I agree with your favourites, I especially love the Portuguese cover it’s gorgeous!

    I also participaited in this weeks topic. Check it out if you like 🙂
    chloreads.blogspot.co.uk 😊💙

    Like

    • Anette Reads says:

      It’s been getting a lot of hype in the book community these past two years I think it is, maybe I just follow a lot of people who tend to talk about books like this haha. I’ll check yours out too 😀

      Like

  2. Esther says:

    I agree with your choices! The original and Portuguese ones are so cool, I love them. And I sort of like the Serbian one, but maybe not for this book. The black background doesn’t feel right when the title talks about the sun.

    Like

  3. Cátia says:

    I have to say I was really proud when I saw the portuguese cover for the first time. They normally use the original cover or design a really bad cover. I was really happy about this one because it’s so beautiful. I keep staring at it everytime I see it in a bookstore

    Like

  4. Lily says:

    This is such a cool post! I absolutely LOVED I’ll give you the sun, definitely gonna be a favorite read from this year! It’s a little confusing at first getting used to their perspectives by you’ll get a hang of it pretty quick 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

