Book Traveling Thursday (22) | I Wish I’d Read This As A Child!

book traveling thursday meme
It’s Thursday and time for another Book Traveling Thursday. This weekly meme was created by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. Visit their Goodreads group to learn more about Book Traveling Thursday 🙂

The rules are to share covers related to the weekly theme where you include the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite, and your least favorite. I’ve decided to go for a top 3 and bottom 3 arrangement, because that’s more fun and I get to showcase more covers. 


This week’s theme is “a book you would read in your childhood if you could go back in time.” I interpret this as a book you’ve read as a teen/adult but wish you’d read as a child instead, so I’m going with A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. I read the first book, The Bad Beginning, in 2014 and I enjoyed it but I probably would have devoured this series whole as a child. I wish I’d seen these in the library back then. I’m especially mad I missed this whole train because of the Netflix series. 

ORIGINAL COVER

297671

I love these. Love, love, love them. They look so nice together on a shelf. 

COVER(S) FROM NORWAY

It seems like most countries kept this design, which is good. The series title is boring though, it’s just “The Evil Count”. At least the movie translated the original title. 

TOP 3 COVERS

the bad beginningLike I said, I love the original ones. They just look so nice and old-fashioned. I also like the newer one with the close-up of Olaf, the drawing style is great. The Dutch one has a really pleasing color scheme to me, I like the orange/purple combo. 

BOTTOM 3 COVERS

btt books22wThe French one isn’t so bad but I really can’t stand the font. The two red ones are both awful, especially the German/English bilingual edition. No thank you.


What book(s) do you wish you’d read as a child? 

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

Globe vector by Freepik
Book vector by Freepik

 

3 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday (22) | I Wish I’d Read This As A Child!

  1. Esther says:

    To this day I have no idea what this series is about, other than the uncle(?) is sort of evil?? I’m waiting to see the show because I don’t think I’m up for reading these books now. Who knows? If the show is any good, I might give them a try.
    I like the English version the most because it pictures exactly what I know of the books haha

    Like

    • Anette Reads says:

      It’s basically about three children who become orphans and are sent to live with their relative, Count Olaf, who tries to steal their inheritance. And then lots of… unfortunate events happen LOL. I’ve only really read the first book and watched the movie so I don’t know what happens in the rest of the series.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

