Book Traveling Thursday (21) | An Adorable LGBT+ Couple

book traveling thursday meme
It’s Thursday and time for another Book Traveling Thursday. This weekly meme was created by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. Visit their Goodreads group to learn more about Book Traveling Thursday 🙂

The rules are to share covers related to the weekly theme where you include the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite, and your least favorite. I’ve decided to go for a top 3 and bottom 3 arrangement, because that’s more fun and I get to showcase more covers. 


This week’s theme is “Favorite LGBTQ+ couple“. I wish I could pick one from the L side of things but I haven’t read that many books with f/f couples yet, damn. And I’ve already done Ari & Dante and I feel like everyone’s picked Simon VS. the Homo Sapiens Agenda for this, so I’m going with something different. More Norwegian books, yay! I chose Jarle and Yngve from Mannen Som Elsket Yngve (The Man Who Loved Yngve) by Tore Renberg. I read it back in 2008 maybe so it’s been quite some time, but I love this book, and the movie as well.

I don’t think it’s been translated into English, sadly, but if you know any of the other languages it’s been translated into I totally recommend reading it. And the movie has subs so you could watch that too, because the movie’s great. 

ORIGINAL COVER

656960

This is a strange cover but it’s kinda nostalgic for me so I don’t mind it, even though it doesn’t tell you anything about the book. I wish the font was more exciting though. 

COVER(S) FROM NORWAY

mannen som elsket yngve

I actually don’t mine any of the movie tie-ins, but maybe that’s because I’m really biased towards the cast. I love them a lot. 

TOP 3 COVERS

btt books21fI’ve always really liked that first movie tie-in. It’s really vintage looking and fits the story really well. I love the little cassette tape. The Hungarian one also fits the mood of the book, it’s set in the 80s and deals with teenagers in a garage band so all the doodles and music references work. The only thing I don’t like is the color and font of the title. And then the simplistic Norwegian cover at the end there really caught my eye. Sometimes I like the simple stuff. 

BOTTOM 3 COVERS

btt books21wLOL, calm down, Swedish, what’s with the flag? We know it’s a Norwegian book, no need to go overboard. It’s not so bad apart from that, but the flag is just too much, as far as I remember this book isn’t about being Norwegian.

The Czech cover is terribly boring, it looks like a typical classics cover and I’m not here for it. What even is that a painting of?? Ribbons?? Someone sewing a wound?? W h a t.

The Polish uses my bae Rolf Kristian Larsen from the movie, but I really dislike when books slap the title on a block of color like that. Especially when the font is bad.



And because I want everyone to watch this movie if they can’t read the book, please check out the trailer. It’s got subs. 

What do you think of these covers? Who’s your favorite LGBT+ couple?

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

Globe vector by Freepik
Book vector by Freepik

 

Leave a Comment

