Top Ten Tuesday | Books I Picked Up On A Whim

top ten tuesday blog

This weekly meme was was created by The Broke and the Bookish. This today’s theme is a “Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim (however you decide to interpret that (bought or read or something else)“. 

So obviously, these are books I’ve picked up without knowing anything about them. They’re not recs, just random books I’ve decided to get. I don’t think I have many books like that, because usually I’ve heard a little bit about them somewhere, but let’s try and make a list. 

This list is in no particular order.


The Truth by Jeffry W. Johnston

[Review]

26595315
A NetGalley ARC that I read because the cover drew me in. It’s a pretty decent story but not overly memorable, except the ending.


Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

1217100
I picked this up and read it back in 2011. The cover and the title intrigued me. The book itself… not so much. It’s a no from me.


Gone by Michael Grant

6473591
I picked this up on an airport because I desperately needed something to read while waiting for my plane, I think I had a couple hours. I’d never heard of it before and I figured it seemed pretty cool after reading the back. I ended up loving the entire series, even though it has its fault.


The Executioner by Chris Carter

11048112
I randomly picked this up in York while waiting for a train to Leeds. It’s a pretty good serial killer detective story.


Room by Emma Donoghue

[Review]

7937843
I bought this randomly back in 2011 or 2012 because there was a 3 for the price of 2 sale and I needed a third book. I had no idea what it was about then and got it because it sounded pretty interesting. From reading the back I actually thought that the mother was keeping her son locked inside a room because she had mental issues and refused to go outside. That’s… not it. LOL.


After Ben by Con Riley

16073835It’s been a while since I read this one too, but I remember really loving it. It’s a m/m romance about the loss of a loved one and moving on.


PICKED UP, BUT NOT YET READ:

I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

23125266
This isn’t a complete whim, but close enough. I’ve heard good things about this author, but that’s about it. I hadn’t planned on buying this, but there was another sale…


Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King

9476470

I love the title. That’s probably why I picked it up. Sadly I still haven’t finished this book even though I started it several years ago and I actually really enjoyed the beginning. It’s because I have it on my phone and I don’t like that particular reading app. I need to get around to finding another copy so I can finally read this.


What’s the best and worst book you’ve ever picked up on a whim? Do you do it often? 

minbunadSidenote: Today is also Norway’s constitution day, so happy constitution day, fellow Norwegians! Gratulerer med dagen! On this day we get all dressed up and stay out all day eating ice cream and hot dogs and so. much. cake. And there are so many people in the streets that I feel like it’s a taste of what life in China must be like. 

<– There’s me in my bunad. 

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

Book vector by Freepik

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Books I Picked Up On A Whim

  1. chapteradventures says:

    I’m curious about After Ben. The only one I’ve read is Room and I thought the mother was also keeping the son locked up for no good reason! We were really mistaken haha but I guess the blurb is sort of misleading, if we both thought the same thing.

    Like

    • Anette Reads says:

      After Ben is a New Adult type story, but the MC is older than a new adult so I guess it’s not really LOL. But I enjoyed it more than the other similar stories I’ve read, I liked the grief element and the focus on moving on and letting go.

      And yeah, that’s funny how we both thought the same thing, must be the blurb XD

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Eve Messenger says:

    What a great tag. “Whim” books are so fun, especially when it turns out that you’ve hit the jackpot. “Room” was an impulse read for me, too, and I thought it was really good. The movie was excellent, too.

    Like

  3. Em says:

    I loved Gone! I saw the room movie but still haven’t gotten to the book and I have 13 reasons why waiting to be read on my shelf (it was also an impulse buy). The others I haven’t read, but some look really good!

    Like

    • Anette Reads says:

      Woo, thank you!
      Hahaha, it seems like a lot of us thought that’s what Room was about. That’s funny. You should definitely watch the movie, I thought it was great. Super emotional as well.

      Like

  4. Lois says:

    Happy constitution day. 😀 😀
    I must say you’ve picked up some great books on a whim. I always seem to forget about Thirteen Reasons Why. It just never left a lasting impression on me which is sad cause I’d heard so many good things about the book beforehand.

    Like

  5. Mari - Flukten fra virkeligheten says:

    Hi Anette, I Also have Thirteen reasons why and Gone on my shelf. Please Ignore Vera Dietz was such a great read, I hope you’ll get the inspiration to pick it up again one day.

    I also wanted to let you know that I have added your blog to the Norwegian book blogger portal Bokblogger.no. Happy Thursday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anette Reads says:

      Heisann! Nice to see you here, I read your blog every once in a while! 🙂 I really hope to get back to Vera Dietz one day, I liked it a lot actually.

      Oh, thank you so much, that’s awesome 🙂 I should use that site more. Thanks for popping by!

      Like

  6. Mari - Flukten fra virkeligheten says:

    I am honored, Anette. That’s so nice to hear. I have shared your post on the Tore Renberg cover’s on Bokblogger.no’s Facebook page today. The page is meant to showcase different book bloggers to readers and professionals alike, and to have a quick view over the latest posts. I hope some new readers discover your blog today.

    Like

Leave a Comment

