Book Traveling Thursday (20) | Bookish BFFs

book traveling thursday meme
It’s Thursday and time for another Book Traveling Thursday. This weekly meme was created by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. Visit their Goodreads group to learn more about Book Traveling Thursday 🙂

The rules are to share covers related to the weekly theme where you include the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite, and your least favorite. I’ve decided to go for a top 3 and bottom 3 arrangement, because that’s more fun and I get to showcase more covers. 


This week’s theme is “Because friendship matters choose your favorite bookish BFF. I’m not sure whether this mean favorite character who could be your BFF in real life, or favorite friendship in books. I’m going with the last one because it’s more interesting. I chose to go with a recent read, Mike and Jared from The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness.

I wouldn’t go as far as to call it my favorite friendship ever (because Harry, Ron and Hermione exist) but I really enjoyed their friendship and I want to look at this book’s covers SOOO.

ORIGINAL COVER

the rest of us just live here

I like it because it highlights the ordinary people in the midst of all the special kids (“indie kids”) but at the end of the day it makes it look too middle grade.  I think this cover came before the other one but correct me if I’m wrong, I just remember seeing this first.

COVER(S) FROM NORWAY

N/A

😦

FAVORITE COVER(S)

the rest of us just live hereI believe the first one is the one published in the US. Right? I don’t know, maybe it’s the other way around, but whatever, it’s English. I love it so much, it’s definitely my favorite. It looks great. The Bulgarian one is just cool as fuck, though it might make some people think it’s horror. Oh well, it gets the point across and it looks awesome. 

LEAST FAVORITE COVER

the rest of us just live here

Germany, no. We’ve been through this, stop with these boring contemporary looking covers with random stock photos that make no sense for the story. Sure, this book has a contemporary feel to it, but this is too much. No. Also I’m not into the title.

What do you think of these covers? What’s your favorite friendship? 

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

Globe vector by Freepik
Book vector by Freepik

 

13 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday (20) | Bookish BFFs

    • Anette Reads says:

      You should try him sometime! I get it if you don’t think he’s your genre though, that’s completely valid. However I really recommend More Than This, it’s such an unique book. That’s the book by him I’d recommend the most, but it depends on what you like to read. The Rest of Us is good if you like contemporary but read/watch enough fantasy to be able to recognize the tropes he makes fun of.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Anette Reads says:

      Aw, too bad you didn’t like it! I definitely get why, but I enjoyed it. The Bulgarian one is really intriguing, I’d definitely turn it around to read the back if I saw it somewhere.

      Like

Leave a Comment

