April 2016 Wrap-Up

wrapupapril

I had yet another not-so-good blogging month, but I have faith that I can get back into the swing of things. I had a decent reading month. I finally decided on getting a Storytel account, which is like Audible except it’s Nordic. I decided to go with this and not Audible because I want to read more nordic noir. Storytel has a good selection of English audio books too so I think it fits my needs pretty well. 


BOOKS READ


17557750Me Before You

by Jojo Moyes
[review]

I read this as part of a read-along with Trang @ bookidote. We both enjoyed this book, I definitely liked it way more than I thought I would.  

4/5 stars
.


17623143Dangerous Girls
by Abigail Haas

This was phenomenal. I love thrillers about dangerous/murderous teens. I haven’t written the review yet but I’ll think I’ll write it straight after this post and have it up tomorrow. I really enjoyed this book. And the ending. Ohhh man. I hope Haas’ Dangerous Boys is just as good as this. 

5/5 stars

.


20645552Hvis Du Lyver
by Thomas Marco Blatt

This was a really random read. I had two hours before I had to be at work and went to the library, as per usual. I picked this up on a whim from the children’s section because I saw it was about a 12 year old girl in love with another girl. I read it, and it was alright. Nothing special, it could have been longer and a little bit deeper even though it’s middle grade. An important read for kids though.

2.5/5 stars


 172 Hours on the Moon 3926441
by Johan Harstad

This is a horror/thriller book about three teens from all over the world who gets selected by NASA to join a super mysterious trip to the moon. Shit goes down and nightmares unfold.  If you have a lot of knowledge about space travel and space things in general this book might annoy you, because I have a feeling not everything makes logical sense, but I’m not a space person. This book reminded me a little bit about the Doctor Who episode Water on Mars. Kind of. I read (or listened) to the Norwegian version because it’s originally written in Norwegian. It’s available to read in English though, so if it sounds interesting you should go for it.

3/5 stars


4883204The Boy in the Dress
by David Walliams
[mini review]

Another really random one. I’ve seen David Walliams’ children’s books being compared to Roald Dahl, so I decided to try one out. I went with this one because it sounded like an important story with an important message for children. I listened to it on Storytel, read by David himself, and it was very enjoyable. It was funny and had a lot of heart. 

5/5 stars


STARTED READING

Days of Blood and Starlight 22363172
by Laini Taylor

As you might already know, I really loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I’m about 280 pages into the sequel and I’m really enjoying this one too. I love Zuzana and I also love the two deer sisters, Sveva and Sarazel. They seem adorable. 

.

.


Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban 5
by JK Rowling

The re-read continues. I’m only reading a little bit here and there, like during lunch at work, but eventually I’ll try to get through the whole series again, chronologically for once. 

.

.


Eva’s Eye/In the Darkness
by Karin Fossum

Apparently this book has two English titles. Weird. I’m listening to this in Norwegian on Storytel, because I used to really love Detective Sejer as a kid when it was sent on TV. So I figured it was time to read the books. 

..


Other posts written this month 

Reviews

Memes

Top Ten Tuesday

Top 5 Wednesday

Other

 


Ahhh, I desperately need to get better at scheduling posts. Someone give me good blogging vibes for May.

What’s the best and worst book you read in April?

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

15 thoughts on “April 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Kat Impossible says:

    Looks like a mixed, but mostly really good reading month 😀 I am finally getting to Me Before You this month. I am both, super excited and terribly frightened of that book hahaha

    Like

Leave a Comment

