Tearjerker Alert: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes [REVIEW]

me before you review blogMe Before You by Jojo Moyes
Series: Me Before You #1
First published by Penguin Books in January 2012
Pages: 369

Tags:
Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Buy: Amazon | Book DepositoryB&N
 
Rating:  photo four stars_zps2ktftgcp.png

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.


What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time

I read this as part of a read-along with Trang from @bookidote. Check out the fashion related tag for the book she created that we both answered.

This is a book I’ve taken on and off my tbh shelf several times. I don’t know why, I’ve just lost interest and then gained it back again for what feels like hundred times. I finally got around to it now though, and I have to say I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would. 

I don’t read a lot of romance, you see. It’s not my thing, unless it’s fanfiction. But throw in some tragedy and something other than all the lovey-dovey stuff and I’ll be way more into it. And as you all probably know, this is a tearjerker, yet at the same time it’s a book about hope, about finding yourself and living life to the fullest and seizing every opportunity. At the end of the day it leaves you hopeful, if a little sad.

If you want to know a little more about the plot apart from what’s in the synopsis, read this paragraph. If you’d rather not know, skip to the next one. I didn’t know much about the plot before I started this, all I knew was that this girl gets hired to be a man in a wheelchair’s assistant and romance happens. What it’s actually about though, is that Louisa gets hired as Will’s assistant, and then basically gets six months to convince Will that life is worth living. Intriguing? Yes. Tragic? Yes. A heavy weight to wear? Yes. Like I said before, this is a book about seizing life and living the life you want to live, that’s how I would describe it, I wouldn’t describe it as a pure romance (even though it is that too). It’s so much more than just romance.

I really enjoyed all the characters, they felt like fully fleshed out human beings. I loved Louisa and her quirkiness, especially her clothing. She has a playful quality to her that I think would appeal to young adult readers too, she’s not very Adult-y. She doesn’t have her life together, she just got fired and still lives with her parents at 27, she has a boyfriend she’s not even sure she likes anymore, she wears striped tights and her hair in two buns on top of her head. Basically she’s amazing.

My favorite scene in the book is definitely when Louisa and Will danced at the wedding, that was beautiful and I can’t wait to see it in the movie. And then they both got wasted and I laughed, a lot.

Needs more dragons though

Me Before You is easy to read and goes by pretty fast, though I did feel like it was a little long. It’s mainly told from Louisa’s perspective, but every once in a while we get a chapter from someone else’s POV, like Nathan and Will’s mother, and for the most part I found them unnecessary. We still could have found out these things in other ways. I didn’t need to be in Will’s mother’s head to understand what she was thinking and feeling about her son’s condition, I got it even without the POV chapter. Maybe that’s just my short attention span, but yeah, it irked me a little bit that some of the POVs could have been left out, at least for me.

I don’t really know what else to say about this book. I liked it more than I thought I would. It made me laugh, cringe (the horse racing scenes, oh god, the cringe), scoff, feel uncomfortable, and while it didn’t make me cry I can definitely see the tearjerker factor. Oh yeah.

Spoilers below

I actually thought Will was going to live, somehow. The existence of After You fooled me, I figured he would be in it, but when I think about it I should have realized because of the title. I’m an idiot, hah. 

End spoilers

I’m not going to bother with the sequel though. The ending satisfied me, I feel like I don’t need to know anything else. 
.
At the end of the day I recommend this book to everyone who loves a good drama. If you don’t necessarily need a fast plot, but instead some good character development and a solid dose of drama and fierce love, this might be the book for you. 

me before you review blog

Have you read Me Before You? Did it break your heart? Are you okay?

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram
3 thoughts on “Tearjerker Alert: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes [REVIEW]

  1. transhaan says:

    AWESOME REVIEW 😀 ! Definitely wrap up all my feelings about the book haha and YES THAT ENDING T_T I don’t think I’m going to read the sequel either XD hahaha BUT I LOVED OUR READALONG THO ❤ Thank you for doing it with me!! – Trang

    Like

Leave a Comment

