Book Traveling Thursday (16) | An awesome father figure

bttnew
It’s Thursday and time for another Book Traveling Thursday. This weekly meme was created by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. Visit their Goodreads group to learn more about Book Traveling Thursday 🙂

The rules are to share covers related to the weekly theme where you include the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite, and your least favorite. I’ve decided to go for a top 3 and bottom 3 arrangement, because that’s more fun and I get to showcase more covers. 


This week’s theme is “Father’s Day is celebrated in a couple of days in a few countries! Choose a book with a awesome father figure.” Father’s day is in November in my country, but oh well! I had a lot of trouble coming up with a book for this one. I’ve already done Harry Potter (Mr Weasley/Sirius), Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Brimstone) and The Knife of Never Letting Go (Ben). So what’s left??? I can barely remember any other father figures LOL. 

So I choose you, Ned Stark! (A Game of Thrones) Love me some Ned Stark. 

ORIGINAL COVER

This seems to be the first edition from 1996, but correct me if I’m wrong. Bad font/color but I like the drawing of the iron throne. 

COVER FROM NORWAY

gotnorsk
Complete book 1, book 1 part 1, book 1 part 2. 

gotnorsk2This must be a very old version. Never seen it before. I don’t hate it, I like the color scheme. 

.

.

.

.

.

.

TOP 3 FAVORITE COVERS

btt books16fI bet there are way more covers out there, but I only looked through the ones on goodreads, because I have a life LOL. I prefer the simpler ones, and these were some of my favorites. I also really like this German one and this Spanish one. 

BOTTOM 3 COVERS

btt books16wI’m really not a fan of the typical fantasy covers, you know the old-style ones with drawings of hunky dudes and wolves and knights and what not. Nope, not for me, they’re so tacky. And both of these older English covers (I think the first one is by Harper Collins) are awful. The Romanian one uses an illustration that other covers have used too, but I really don’t like the fonts or the composition.

So, what do you think of these covers? Which one’s your favorite and least favorite? Do you like the sort of typical fantasy illustrations?

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

Globe vector by Freepik
Book vector by Freepik

 

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday (16) | An awesome father figure

  1. Lois says:

    For some reason I simply cannot get into Game of Thrones. I’ve tried at least three times and couldn’t make it past the halfway mark haha. I do have a lot of respect for Ned Stark though, he seemed to be the only decent political player and person in the series 😛
    I love the Portuguese edition of the book. It’s so atmospheric.
    I have to agree with you about the English/Romanian covers. I’m not a big fan of the hunky dude on a horse image, it’s so overused haha.

    Like

    • Anette @ Anette Reads says:

      Yeah, Game of Thrones can be really hard to get into it! It actually took me a year to read the first one (but I didn’t read all the time, just a chapter here and there) and another year to read the second LOL.

      The hunky dude on a horse is so annoying and it makes it look too old for me. Even though it is XD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

