International Women’s Day: Women in books and TV

women in books

So I’d planned on making a post about women today, because it’s International Women’s Day, but I forgot to come up with a specific topic. So then I just have to pick one right now and I’m going with books with female leads, with some bonus TV shows because I can. First I’ll talk about some of the ones I’ve read then list some I have on my tbr.

I’m including books I’ve rated highly and books I’ve rated lowly, because most of the books I rated lowly a lot of people love so I’m not going to ignore them. 

I hope I can get all the information as accurate as possibly, I don’t have the best memory. Feel free to correct me!

SCI-FI

The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey
17235026
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: Yes

Non-straight women: Yes

My rating: 4.5 /5

Click here to read my review

,
Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness
8505011
Female narrator(s): Yes, from book 2

Women of Color: Not mentioned (I think?)

Non-straight women: Not this far

My rating: 5/5 (book one)

Note that I have only read the first two books


Click here to read my review of the first book
Click here to read my review of the first book

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
12973964
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: Yes

Non-straight women: Not this far

My rating: 2.5 /5

Note that I have only read the first book

Click here to read my mini review

Gone series by Michael Grant
6473591

Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: Yes

Non-straight women: Yes

My rating: 4/5 (book one)

 

Saga series by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
16148398
Female narrator(s)N/A (it’s a comic)

Women of Color: Yes

Non-straight women: Not this far (I think? It’s been a while)

My rating: 4/5 (first volume)

Note that I have only read the first four volumes

Click here to read my review of volume 1-4


Ladies all across the world, listen up, we’re lookin’ for recruits (x)


FANTASY

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas
13519397
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: Yes

Non-straight women: Not this far

My rating: 2/5

Note that I have only read the first book.

Click here to read my review

Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor
8490112
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: (I want to say yes, unless it was just my imagination)

Non-straight women: Not this far

My rating: 5/5

Note that I have only read the first book here too. 

Click here to read my review


I’m on the battlefield like oh my god, knockin’ soldiers down like house of cards, I’m a one woman army (x)


DYSTOPIA

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins
12885649
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: Yes

Non-straight women: I argue that Katniss is ace/aro

My rating: 5/5 (book one)

 

Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth
13335037
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: Yes

Non-straight women: Not this far

My rating: 3.5/5 

Note that I have only read the first book

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
820689
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: (I want to say yes but I can’t remember any, so maybe no?)

Non-straight women: Yes

My rating: 4/5 

 


Live fast, die young, bad girls do it well (x)


CRIME/THRILLER

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
15704174
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: No

Non-straight women: No

My rating: 5 /5

 

HORROR

Carrie by Stephen King
11740831

Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: (Not that I remember)

Non-straight women: No

My rating: 4/5 

Click here to read my review

 

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
13077542
Female narrator(s): No

Women of Color: No

Non-straight women: No

My rating: 5/5 

Click here to read my mini review


Every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top (x)


CONTEMPORARY/ROMANCE

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
17322949
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: Yes

Non-straight women: No

My rating: 5/5 

Click here to read my review

 


You don’t own me, I’m not just one of your many toys (x)



GENERAL ADULT FICTION

Passing by Nella Larsen
8855588
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: Yes

Non-straight women: Can be argued, yes

My rating: 4/5 

 

 

The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
117661
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: Yes

Non-straight women: No

My rating: 4/5 

 

Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name by Vendela Vida
64482
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: (Not that I can remember)

Non-straight women: No

My rating: 3/5 

 

Second Class Citizen by Buchi Emecheta
865365

Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: Yes

Non-straight women: No

My rating: 3/5 

 

The Color Purple by Alice Walker
11486
Female narrator(s): Yes

Women of Color: Yes

Non-straight women: Yes

My rating: 4/5 

 

BOOKS ON MY TBR

girlsbooks

 FAVORITE FEMALE-LED TV SHOWS

the 100

Favorite characters: Clarke, Octavia, Lexa, Indra
Favorite ship: Clarke/Lexa

Favorite friendships/dynamics: Octavia & Indra, Clarke & Octavia, Octavia & Bellamy Raven & Abby

orphan blackFavorite characters: Helena, Alison
Favorite ship: Cosima/Delphine
Favorite friendships/dynamics: Sarah & Helena (!!!!). all the clones tbh, I live for scenes with them all together

orange is the new black

Favorite characters: Pennsatucky, Nicky, Alex, Poussey
Favorite ship: Alex/Piper, Poussey/smiling
Favorite friendships/dynamics: Nicky & Morello, Red & Nicky, Poussey & Taystee, Big Boo/Pennsatucky, Suzanne & Piper

Happy international women’s day, everyone!  

Who’s your favorite female character? Favorite female-led TV show? 

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

Book vector designed by Freepik

13 thoughts on “International Women’s Day: Women in books and TV

  1. Lois says:

    Happy International Women’s day. I love the idea behind this post and I love some of your book choices. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is a particular favourite of mine and Karou’s growth throughout the series is stunning.
    I’ve heard nothing but great things about the Chaos Walking trilogy so I feel like I need to give this series a chance to wow me haha. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

