Top Ten Tuesday | Books I didn’t think I’d enjoy but then…

book playlist

This weekly meme was was created by The Broke and the Bookish. This today’s theme is a “Ten Book I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book (or that was out of your comfort zone)“. 

I’m going to modify it slightly to books I didn’t think I’d be very into, for whatever reason, but that I ended up enjoying. If I don’t think I’ll enjoy a book then I’m often right, so I could only think of five that I felt like I wanted to put on the list. 


Daughter of Smoke and Bone

8490112I didn’t think I’d hate this book or anything, but I didn’t really know anything about this before I started it other than it was about angels. I haven’t read any other angel books but I’ve heard from reliable sources that a lot of angel books out there (like Fallen and Hush Hush) aren’t very good. But ohhhhh boy this book is fantastic and the writing is just beautiful. [review]

“It is a condition of monsters that they do not perceive themselves as such. The dragon, you know, hunkered in the village devouring maidens, heard the townsfolk cry ‘Monster!’ and looked behind him.”

 


Eleanor & Park

17322949After not really liking Fangirl [review] all that much, I was wary of Rowell. And since I don’t really gravitate towards romance books I wasn’t sure if I’d like this. But I loved it, I loved the character and I loved the angst. [review]

“Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”

.

.

.


Anna Dressed In Blood

13077542It’s paranormal romance. Something I don’t really read. But the cover is freaky and so I read it and I’m still surprised at how much I loved it. It’s slightly inta-lovey but at the same time gory and gruesome. I inhaled this book in one sitting, it was just so fun and fast-paced. It’s one of those books that are just like candy. Plus it reminded me a lot of Supernatural. 

“I’ve seen most of what there is to be afraid of in this world, and to tell you the truth, the worst of them are the ones that make you afraid in the light.”

.

.


Passing

8855588This was a required read, and you know how they tend to go. But I loved this little book, the writing style is surprisingly modern for a book published in 1929 and I enjoyed the story. It’s about two mixed-raced white-passing women and their relationship to each other and their communities. 

“The trouble with Clare was, not only that she wanted to have her cake and eat it too, but that she wanted to nibble at the cakes of other folk as well.”

.

.


Wuthering Heights

2785278I didn’t like Jane Austen and I hated Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre, so I didn’t really think I’d like her sister either even though I knew that this book was different. But oh man, Emily, marry me. There’s none of those timid and prim and proper characters, oh no. This is dark. This book is a mess, Catherine and Heathcliff are horrible and broken people and completely disintegrate without each other. I feel like they truly were soulmates, and by not being able to be together they got destroyed from the inside out. (Also isn’t this cover awesome? It’s not the one I own but I want it.)

 

“It would degrade me to marry Heathcliff now; so he shall never know how I love him: and that, not because he’s handsome, Nelly, but because he’s more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same”


So that’s it for this week 🙂 

If you’ve read any of these books, how did you like them? What are some books you didn’t think you’d be into but that you ended up enjoying?

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Books I didn’t think I’d enjoy but then…

  1. Anna (Enchanted by YA) says:

    Often I’ll go into a book not realising how much I’ll love it, but it’s rare that I’ll even bother to pick up a book when I have low expectations XD for that reason alone I don’t anticipate picking up Jane Austen (I’m the opposite of you in that I really disliked Wuthering Heights!) Though I do want to read Eleanor and Park and Fangirl ❤ Anna Dressed in Blood is awesome
    Enchanted by YA

    Like

    • Anette @ Anette Reads says:

      Yeah, Wuthering Heights seems to be one of those love/hate books, either you love or you hate it. I don’t often pick up books when I have low expectations either, but when I do then my expectations are almost always correct, like when I read Throne of Glass XD

      Like

  2. thebibliotheque says:

    I read Eleanor and Park and loved it so much I ordered Fangirl immediately after. I still have to read it but it’s too bad to know you didn’t really like it 😦 I just hope for it to be as good as E&P

    Great top 🙂

    Like

  3. Lois says:

    I’ve seen Anna Dressed in Blood floating around but I’ve never actually paid attention to the book, which is odd considering I’m a Supernatural fan haha.
    I was pleasantly surprised by Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I knew a lot of people loved the book but I kind of wanted to go in blind and see what it was all about for myself and I was hooked. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gabi @ Let's Gab About Books says:

    I have only read one book on your list, Eleanor and Park, which I completely enjoyed! But it’s definitely in my comfort zone, haha. Maybe I’ll check out Anna Dressed in Blood, which is so SO far out of my comfort zone, especially if you read and enjoyed it despite it being out of your own comfort zone too!

    my TTT: https://letsgababoutbooks.wordpress.com/2016/02/23/top-ten-tuesday-recently-enjoyed-out-of-my-comfort-zone/

    Like

  5. elimadison2019 says:

    I totally didn’t think that I’d enjoy Anna Dressed in Blood either. Horror is really not my thing at all, but I read it because a lot of people liked it, and it was so amazing. It wasn’t nearly as scary as I’d thought it would be, but it was well written and heartbreaking and wonderful. I’m so glad you gave it a chance as well! I didn’t think I’d enjoy Eleanor & Park, but I got it as a gift and it ended up being my favorite of my birthday presents that year. 😀 Thanks for sharing!

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Like

Leave a Comment

