Top Ten Tuesday | Favorite Pairings (99% TV couples)

favorite ships

This weekly meme was was created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is a “Valentine’s Day themed freebie“. So since I don’t read a lot of romance or anything like that I’m going with my favorite pairings. And these will for the most part be from TV shows, because let’s be honest, I’m way more invested in TV show characters than book characters (unless they’re from Harry Potter). 


Sawyer and Kate (LOST)

favorite shipsSource: cordeliachases

Ahh, these two were probably my first OTP when I was like 14/15. I can’t really remember who I got obsessed with first though, these two or Ron and Hermione.

But I love them so much, I was obsessed with both them and the show. If there’s an Alpha Ship then there’s definitely this one. 

“I don’t know what they did to you, but I know you’re scared enough to lie about it and that scares me more than anything they’ve done to us before. I’m not leaving you, Sawyer.”


Ron and Hermione (Harry Potter)

favorite shipsSource: jbaggles

My other main ship that I’ll love just as much no matter how much time passes. I’ve raved about them a lot recently in my Book Love Tag so I won’t bore you again. 

All’s fair in love and war,’ said Ron brightly, ‘and this is a bit of both.’


Ian and Mickey (Shameless US)

canon gay couples
Source: me

Ahhh, I haven’t shipped anyone this hard since the two ships above. These idiots hit me like a wrecking ball when I started watching this show 2 years ago and I haven’t looked back since.

We’re not talking about season 6 though. #mickeymilkovichdeservedbetter

“Ian, what you and I have makes me free.”


Dean and Castiel (Supernatural) 

destielSource: castiels-dean

Here’s another pair of idiots. They just need to tell each other they love each other already.

“And the angel tablet (…) is in pieces, and for what again? To save Dean Winchester. That was your goal, right? I mean, you draped yourself in the flag of heaven, but ultimately, it was all about saving one human, right?”

 


Clarke and Lexa (The 100) 

canon lesbian couplesSource: rumplestiltskin


So angsty. So intense. I love it. And they’re getting the main-ship treatment, how wonderful is that? I almost flailed off my chair during the last episode (3×03).

What I love about them isn’t just the angst, it’s that while they love each other, they’re not the “I would sacrifice my entire people for you even though I haven’t known you for that long” type of ship. We see that all the time and really, how realistic is that? Sure, I love these couples too (After all, Castiel does this), but should every ship do it in order to be deemed shippable? I see people who don’t ship Lexa use this as their reason for not liking them and that’s fine, you do you, but I’m questioning why you need that really serious sacrifice all the time, it’s not exactly healthy. Lexa puts her people first, as she should, she’s the Commander. She feels bad about it, but she has to. 

But she saw to that, because now Clarke is part of her people. And I am dead, this is perfect. Goodbye. 

“I swear fealty to you, Clarke kom Skaikru. I vow to treat your needs as my own, and your people as my people.” 

#married


John and Sherlock (Sherlock) 

johnlockSource: incurablylazydevil

Another pair of stubborn idiots who need to admit they love each other. Just do it. I love me some slow burn but COME ON. 

I also really ship Sherlock and Lestrade though. 

“Very hard to find a pressure point on you, Mr Holmes. The drugs thing I never believed for a moment. Anyway, you wouldn’t care if it was exposed, would you? But look how you care about John Watson. Your damsel in distress.”


Steve and Bucky (The Marvel Universe) 

stuckySource: snuckybarnes

I’m running out of things to say other than “I love them so much” but I love them so much. I’m super excited for Civil War.

#teamcap

“‘Cause I’m with you ’til the end of the line.”


Alex and Izzie (Grey’s Anatomy) 

favorite shipsSource: dana-katherines

I want her to come baaaaack ;_; I like Jo but it’s not the same. 

Mark and Lexie, as well as Callie and Arizona, are among my top ships but I’m going with just one from each fandom. 

“Admit it. I know you care about me too, I know you do. I care about you. I care about you. I care about you. I care about you. I care about you! I-“


The Doctor and Rose (Doctor Who)

favorite shipsSource: natailerushman

I miss them. How heartbreaking was that ending? But my shipper heart is still somewhat satisfied. I don’t really ship him with his other companions, though I like him with River. 

“If you talk to Rose, just tell her… Tell her… Oh, she knows.”


Mitchell and Annie (Being Human)

angsty ships
Source: katiefords

Ughhhhhhhhh. This damn vampire/ghost pairing. They’re too beautiful. And when I think about them my heart hurts. Nope.

“You were the love of my long life.”
“And you were the love of mine.”


Bonus: Simon and Alisha (Misfits)

angsty ships
Source: stonerclone

I just had to add some bonus pairings because I have a lot of feelings about these two last ones. So here’s Simon and Alisha, I loved them so much and what happened is horrible. Don’t remind me. 

“Alisha?”
“What?”
“Do you like… food?”
“Do I like food?”


Bonus: Naomi and Emily (Skins)

canon lesbian couplesSource: stonerclone

And I needed to add these two as a little throwback to when I loved Skins. And this list needed more femslash. Look at how cute they are. I need to rewatch the first seasons, I feel like it’s been ages. 

We do not talk about The Thing. 

“I think you need someone to want you. Well, I do want you. So be brave and want me back.”



Why do like 89% of my ships end painfully? Damn. Also this post took me so long, I’m so picky when it comes to what gifs to use @_@

Tell me about your favorite pairings! Do we share any? I love talking about ships. 

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

31 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Favorite Pairings (99% TV couples)

  1. The Charmed Reader says:

    Mickey Milkovich is my baby and I shipped Gallavich so hard. They are my ultimate OTP of any OTP I actually don’t watch the show anymore because of what they did to the characters over the past few seasons but ugh. Mickey Milkovich is life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anette @ Anette Reads says:

      I know! Mickey’s my all-time favorite character, I’m seething after what they did to him. Season 6 is much better than season 5 writing-wise, but the lack of Mickey hurts my soul. And Ian’s acting like gigantic dick.

      Like

  2. Kat Impossible says:

    AAAAAH! So many of my favourite couples!
    I was always Team Sawyer on Lost. Jack never had the appeal …
    Oh Gallavich, be still my heart!
    And I like Clexa, but my main ship is probably still Bellarke on that one …
    But also YAY for everything Mistfits, Doctor Who, Being Human or other on this post! Love it!

    Like

  3. Carrianne says:

    John and Sherlock. Yesssss. Also, lived the Doctor and Rose. Definitely agree that it was heartbreaking (but not quite as much as Amy/Rory 😉 ). I’m just at the beginning of Dean and Castiel on Netflix. Digging it. Haha.

    Like

    • Anette @ Anette Reads says:

      Amy and Rory’s story was tragic too but it didn’t hit me just as hard. I don’t know if you’re caught up, but what happened to Clara actually hit me harder than Amy and Rory.

      Ahhhh good luck on your Supernatural journey! 😀 Season 4 and 5 are amazing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Carrianne says:

        I’m totally caught up with DW. What happened with her really didn’t affect me. Don’t get me wrong, I loved her and was sad to see her go, but I don’t know. It was weird (my lack of reaction).

        As for supernatural, that’s exactly where I’m at now actually! 😀

        Like

      • Anette @ Anette Reads says:

        I love Clara a lot, more than Amy. And I thought the scene with her “death”, the whole time freezing thing, was so well done, I teared up XD And I’d managed not to be spoiled so I didn’t actually know we were switching companions so to me it came out of no where, so that’s probably part of it.

        I figured! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

