January Wrap-Up

young adult books

Hello guys, how’s your weekend going? We’re almost in February so I figured I’d do a little wrap-up posts. I haven’t gotten around to doing any of these before, so this is my first one. Yay. Hopefully I read enough every month to be able to continue on with it, haha.

Just an FYI, I never read this much in a month usually. The only reason I read this many is because of the RYBSAT readathon

Without further ado… 

Finished reading

26247784

The Private Eye: The Cloudburst Edition (ARC) by Brian K. Vaughan
and Marcos Martin (artist)

A very quirky, interesting, and diverse graphic novel series. 

4/5 stars


22055262

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Unfortunately very disappointing. Found it pretty boring and bland writing-wise. 

1.5/5 stars


16112389

Den Sommeren Pappa Ble Homo by Endre Lund Eriksen
(translation: The Summer My Dad Turned Gay)

Listening to this on audiobook, read by the author, is the best decision I’ve ever made.
Hilarious, adorable, and realistic. 

5/5 stars


17235026

The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

A very gripping and haunting thriller, I enjoyed it a lot. 

4.5/5 stars


23302416

Wonder by R.J. Palacio

A very emotional read about a boy with a deformed face. 

4.5/5 stars


7989157

Room by Emma Donoghue

Another emotional and intense book. I enjoyed the 5 year old POV, I don’t think I’ve ever read an adult novel from such a young perspective before. It slowed down a bit towards the end, but overall it was good. 

4/5 stars


Books started

8490112

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

I’m loving it this far! Superb world-building, just like the hype said. 


Reviews written this month

The Private Eye

A Darker Shade of Magic

The Girl With All the Gifts

The Truth


Memes

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I will finally read in 2016

Top Ten Tuesday: Books recently added to my TBR

WWW Wednesday (Jan. 20)

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Fandoms

Top 5 Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

Book Traveling Thursday: Book to Movie


So that’s my wrap-up! What’s the best and worst book you read in January? Let me know in the comments!

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ |

12 thoughts on “January Wrap-Up

    • Anette @ Anette Reads says:

      I think the movie is good too, that’s what people say at least. I started watching it a couple days ago but then got distracted like two minutes in (me in a nutshell) so I still need to find the time to sit down and watch 😄

      Like

  1. Eve Messenger says:

    Oh, how I love your list of January reads. I’m super excited to read The Girl with All th Gifts butsort of disappointed about the low rating for A Darker Shade of Magic (not to worry, I’m still going to give it a try.)

    Like

  2. Ember @ literary constellation says:

    You’re the first one I’ve noticed that didn’t enjoy A Darker Shade of Magic! I haven’t read it myself yet, but I am looking forward to eventually getting my hands on it. The Girl With All the Gifts is another one I’m dying to read. Every time I’ve checked at the library, it’s checked out. 😦

    Like

Leave a Comment

