Top 5 Wednesday (8) | Disappointing Eye-Candy

top 5 wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @ gingerreadslainey. If you want to join Top 5 Wednesday take a look at the Goodreads group!

The topic of today is Disappointing Eye Candy, i.e. books that look beautiful but that ended up being disappointing. Let’s admit that the negative topics are the most fun.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

beautiful book coversGorgeous cover, fantastic title, mediocre content. I mean, it was alright, but I’d expected more. [review]

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

beautiful book coversI didn’t hate this either, I liked it ok, but I’d expected a lot more from the hype and the premise. I’m not a fan of how this cover looks just online like this, but in person it looks fantastic, I love how all spines look together on a shelf. 

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

beautiful book coversAnother hyped up book with an adorable cover that failed to convince me of its awesomeness. I liked the second half better than the first, but it took me a year to get through this book. [review]

 

 

 

 

 

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

beautiful book coversEveryone who’s followed my blog for a while knows I didn’t like this and found it extremely overrated and not scary in the slightest. It’s such a shame because this one really is eye-candy. The hardcover especially is just beautiful. [review]

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

beautiful book coversThis is my number one disappointment because my expectations were through the roof because of all the hype and because the author wrote one of my favorite books. I’m still sad that I didn’t like this book. The cover is so so beautiful! But alas, I found the book so boring! It was a classic “it’s not you, it’s me” moment. [review]

 

 

 

Am I alone in these opinions or does anyone agree? What’s your number one eye-candy disappointment? 
Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ |
16 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday (8) | Disappointing Eye-Candy

  1. Rayna says:

    Me and Early and the Dying Girl is in my top five spot, too. It was just so… not.. funny. Or anything, really.
    And I’m sorry you didn’t like Fangirl; it’s one of my favorite books!

    Like

  2. Ayunda says:

    I agree with Cinder and Miss Peregrine, although I didn’t have that much expectations for Cinder. They say the sequels get better but they’re not AMAZING.
    But I really liked Fangirl, so I’ll have to disagree with you on that book 😊

    Like

    • Anette @ Anette Reads says:

      I didn’t have skyhigh expectations for Cinder either, but it still managed to disappoint me. I’m so torn on whether or not to try and read the next one, some people say it’s better and some say it’s worse 😄 Who to trust!

      I’m glad you liked Fangirl, I wish I did too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

