Top 10 Tuesday | Books I will finally read in 2016

top ten tuesday

This weekly meme was was created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is “Top Ten Resolutions We Have For 2016 (can be bookish, personal resolutions, I resolve to finally read these 10 books, series I resolve to finish in 2015, etc.)“. I’m going with books I finally want to get to, because there are many. 

 

More Happy Than Not

more happy than notI’ve heard so many amazing things about this debut by Adam Silvera ever since it got published last year. I’ve got it on my kindle, so I just need to actually sit down and read it.

 

 

 

 

 


Daughter of Smoke & Bone

Daughter of smoke and boneThis one’s on my bookshelf, waiting to be read. This one might be the first one on this list that I get to, I haven’t decided yet. What do you think? 

 

 

 

 

 


The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

the strange and beautiful sorrow of ava lavenderI’ve been dying to read this ever since I first heard about it almost a year ago now in a youtube review. The title is gorgeous, the cover is gorgeous, and I’ve heard the writing is stunning too. I don’t even remember what it’s about right now (a girl with wings? Or did I make that up?), all I know is I want to read it.

 

 

 

.


The Girl on the Train

the girl on the trainThis is another one that’s on my shelf, slowly collecting dust until I finally pick it up. I’ve been wanting to for a long time, especially since it’s been said to be Gone Girl-ish and I love Gone Girl.

 

 

 

 


 Shatter Me

shatter meThis is one I feel almost obliged to read, haha. Everyone seems to have read it and either love it or hate it, so naturally I’m curious. I know the writing style is odd and the girl kills people by touching them or something? I don’t know. But I’ll find out. 

.

.

.

.


 Night Film

night filmAlso on my bookshelf. I just had to buy it when I found it, it looks so interesting and when I opened it up it reminded me of House of Leaves and then I couldn’t go home without it. I will read you. Soon. Hopefully.

 

 

 

 


 Throne of Glass

throne of glassAnother one I feel is almost mandatory to read if you’re a YA reader/blogger XD I’m probably one of the few who hasn’t read it yet. I’ve heard mixed things about this too, but since I own it I’m going to read it. I have a feeling I might not love it, but we’ll see, maybe I will. 

 

 

 

 


 

 Wonder

wonder by r.j. palacioThis just seems to be such a beautiful book. I bought it such a long time ago and it’s a shame I still haven’t gotten to it. It seems to be a quick read too, so I should just do it. 

 

.

.

.

.


I Hunt Killers

i hunt killersThis is one of the books that’s been on my Goodreads tbr-shelf the longest, since 2011 when I created the account. Whoops. But I just haven’t found it anywhere and ordering online is ugh. Last time I was at the library I got so excited because I found 11 (!) copies of it on the shelf. Then I noticed they were all in Norwegian. Maaaaan. Why does this book still have an English title in Norwegian, that’s just teasing. 

 

 

 


 Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone: Illustrated Edition

illustrated harry potterI’ve been drooling over this ever since it came out. I need it. Yesterday. Why didn’t I get this for Christmas? How rude. Can’t imagine a more perfect way to re-read this book. 

 

 

 

 


 

What books are on your MUST READ ASAP list? Which one of these should I get to first?

Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ |

21 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday | Books I will finally read in 2016

  1. SciFi and Scary says:

    I was actually going through my list last night and eliminating more books from my TBR.

    Am I the only one that gets confused with the (object) and (object) titles? Feels like there’s just too many of them. Ink and Bone, Smoke and.. Fire and.. etc. Its not a good naming trend -.-

    Like

    • Anette @ Anette Reads says:

      I took a few off my own list just now. I could probably remove many others but I’ll look at that later.
      And yes, that’s true! I’ve noticed it too. Same with all the “___ of ___ and ___ ” titles, like Daugher of Smoke and Bone, and A Court of Thorns and Roses etc.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marian says:

    The Girl on The Train seems to be a popular one. I think there’s a movie coming out, isn’t there? Ah well. I can’t keep up. haha I really like your blog design btw. 🙂

    Like

  3. kellysrambles says:

    I read The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavendar last year and it is SO beautiful! It really lived up to all the amazing reviews I had read. The Girl on the Train is also a great book. Enjoy!

    My TTT. 🙂

    Like

  4. Ashley says:

    I really want to read More Happy Than Not and Shatter Me. I meant to in 2015 and just never got around to it. I Hunt Killers – YES, definitely read now, hahaha. I honestly didn’t like Throne of Glass when I read it. I thought it was super boring and it didn’t really get good for me until the last 150 pages of the book. I hope you like it better though!

    Like

  5. GryffindorBooks says:

    Daughter of Smoke and Bone is something that I’ve been meaning to read forever! I think I’m just intimidated; from what I’ve heard, the world is really unique and complex (which can be good but also hard to get into)

    Like

  6. library4delinquents says:

    I also own and have been meaning to read Throne of Glass for a while! Although I recently read Court of Thorns and Roses, the first of a different series by the same author and didn’t like it at all! But I might still give Throne of Glass a go as they are such different themes. Ava Lavender does look gorgeous, never heard of that one before.

    Like

  7. Trish @ Between My Lines says:

    I loved The Girl on the Train so I’d highly recommend that one. And I have TSABSOAL and Throne of Glass just sitting here waiting their turn to be read. Making me feel quilty! I didn’t love Shatter Me but I’m very much in the minority with that thought. And of course I’m lusting after the illustrated Harry Potter just like every other Potterhead who hasn’t splashed out yet.
    Great list, enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Comment

