Top 5 Wednesday #5 | Authors Discovered This Year

T5W

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey. If you want to join Top 5 Wednesday take a look at the Goodreads group!

The topic of today is authors you discovered this year. I usually don’t get hung up on one author, meaning that if I read one or two or even five good books from them doesn’t make me buy their next book without knowing anything about it. I still judge the individual books and not the author, because all books are different. 

That said, here are the authors that I discovered this year that I really loved. 

Becky Albertalli

She’s a debut author so the only book she’s published is Simon VS. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, but it’s a really great book so Albertalli belongs on this list. I’ll be on the look-out for what she publishes next, which seems to be a companion novel for Simon VS.? Nice.

.

.

Kendare blake

I bought Anna Dressed In Blood years ago, but I only read it in June this year so she still counts as newly discovered. I really enjoyed that book and I’d check out more books from her, probably. I’m planning on reading the sequel soon. 

.

.

Gillian Flynn

This is another one that I’ve definitely heard of long before this year, but only got around to reading this summer. I read Gone Girl and loved it, and I’m planning on reading Dark Places pretty soon. Flynn is awesome. I wish I had her twisted brain. 

Patrick Ness

After having read four books from him this year he’s as close to an auto-buy author as they can get for me. I’ll definitely research all his future books and consider reading them all. I especially love More Than This and the Chaos Walking series. I’m not sure if I’m gonna read The Rest of Us Just Live Here. Maybe. 

.

Victoria (V.E.) SCHWAB

Another very nearly auto-buy-author, just because of how much I loved Vicious. I’m reading A Darker Shade of Magic right now and I’m finding it okay this far, but you better believe I’ll be the first in line when the sequel to Vicious comes out. Take my money. 

Who’s on your list? 
15 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #5 | Authors Discovered This Year

  1. MC @ Blame It On The Books says:

    Patrick Ness made it onto my list, too. I personally loved The Rest of Us Just Live Here, but I know there have been some mixed feelings on it. I can’t wait to finish the Chaos Walking trilogy, but I’m a little afraid because I know it’s going to be intense.

    Like

    • Anette says:

      I have that book in my “maybe” pile, there’s a chance I might pick it up if I suddenly feel like it 😀 I can’t wait to finish it either, I planned on maybe reading the 2.5 novella today.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. fiddlerblue says:

    I love all of the authors you’ve listed. I still need to read Anna Dress In Blood but it’s quite intriguing. I love Albertali and Ness’ books (Simon… and The Rest of Us…), their characters reminded me of each other’s books. 🙂
    I hope you enjoy Dark Places! I thought it wasn’t as creepy as Gone Girl but it’s just as good 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

