Top 5 Wednesday #3 | Banned/Challenged Books I’ve Read

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey. If you want to join Top 5 Wednesday take a look at the Goodreads group!

It’s Banned Books Week, so naturally this week’s topic is “banned books you’ve read”. Free the books!

(Titles take you to the book’s Goodreads page)

Banned and challenged books

5. THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER (stephen chbosky)

15950494I found this book pretty meh, but it’s been challenged and banned so many times through the years that I figured I’d put it on the list anyway. And all my other picks will be YA so it will fit the running theme. I don’t know, I guess there’s too much drugs and sexual content and scary homosexual characters in this book. 

.

.

.

4. THE FAULT IN OUR STARS (john green)

11870085Pulled from the shelves because of crude language, teens dying of cancer and teens having sex. Also teen love stories are inappropriate for the teen audience, apparently. [source] 

I quite liked The Fault in Our Stars when I read it and you can do nothing but laugh at hysterical parents. 

.

.

.

.

3. THE GIVER (Lois Lowry)

3636It seems like it was only challenged by some parents because of various reasons like “adolescent pill-popping, suicide, and lethal injections given to babies and the elderly”, but I’m still gonna say it counts. [source p. 5] 

.

.

.

.

2. THE HUNGER GAMES (Suzanne collins)

2767052“Challenged and presented to the Goffstown, N.H. school board (2010) by a parent claiming that it gave her eleven-year-old nightmares and could numb other students to the effects of violence. ” [source p. 5]

It wasn’t banned either, only challenged, at least at that particular school, but I still laugh. Imagine wanting to ban a book because it gave your child nightmares. I guess my parents should have just gone ahead and sued R.L. Stine for scarring me for years to come when it came to masks and guest bedrooms. But if I remember correctly, Goosebumps was also banned several places so…

1. HARRY POTTER (J.K. Rowling)

3So we all know about Harry Potter being banned because of witchcraft and whatnot. It’s both hilarious and sad. Poor children. 

.

.

.

.

What do you think about book banning? 
12 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #3 | Banned/Challenged Books I’ve Read

    • Anette says:

      Yes exactly, I agree. Banning books about very normal teenage things really bugs me, kids and teens should be able to read about their own problems. They should also be able to read about witchcraft haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Samantha Reed says:

    I can’t believe that The Fault in Our Stars is a banned book!?! I love that book so much ❤ I love all of those, actually. I think the whole idea of banning books is ridiculous and invasive, did you hear about Courtney Summer's Some Girls Are being banned because of the bullying and cruel language? They thought it would be ""too rough" on teen girls.

    Like

      • Samantha Reed says:

        I hate censorship in school’s, I think it is an invasion of privacy and a violation of personal freedoms. So what if a kid wants to read a book you don’t agree with? It’s like school boards are trying to control what people think, I hate it. I know there were some books, like Catcher in the Rye that I wanted to read, but my teacher specifically excluded it from the curriculum though other classes were reading it because she didn’t agree with it being allowed in schools.

        Yea, the whole Courtney Summer’s thing is a crock of BS. The school system will go to horrible lengths to ban a book about bullying but they won’t do anything about people actually being bullied in the halls.

        Like

Leave a Comment

