Top Ten Tuesday | Required Reading

This weekly meme was was created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme is a freebie, so you can choose your own topic. I ended up with picking required reading, aka books I’ve had to read for class. 

A lot of the time I weren’t a fan of the books on my syllabus, but there have been certain shining moments. 

Top tEN REQUIRED READS

1. LIFE OF PI BY YANN MARTEL

4214

Hands down the best book I’ve had to read for any class or lecture. I loved this one so much, I think I read it in one or two sittings, which is unheard of for pretty much anything on the syllabus. 

The movie adaptation is great too. 

You probably know what it’s about already, but if you don’t it’s about an Indian boy that gets stranded on a small boat in the middle of the ocean with an injured zebra, an orangutan, a frantic hyena, and a gigantic Bengal tiger. 

.

2. MAN WALKS INTO A ROOM BY NICOLE KRAUSS

589304This book is about a man that looses all his memories from the age of 12 and onward (I think it was 12) because of a brain tumor. Then he joins an experiment that deals with transferring memories between people. 

This books explores the importance of memory and personal history. It’s really quite good, I liked it a lot. 

.

.

3. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

2785278Wow, an older classic that I actually really like. That’s pretty rare. 

Wuthering Heights is a wild, passionate story of the intense and almost demonic love between Catherine Earnshaw and Heathcliff” – Goodreads. 

I just love the darkness of this book and these characters. They’re twisted and messed up and their love is the same. I’m so weak for things like that. Give me this over Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy any day of the week. 

.

4. The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith

2247142

I read this for my Crime Fiction class. It’s a crime novel from the criminal’s point of view, and that is always super interesting. It’s about Tom Ripley, a sociopath who becomes dangerously obsessed with his rich and handsome friend Dickie Greenleaf. Drama and crime ensues. 

There’s a movie adaptation too, with Matt Damon and Jude Law. I recommend it not only for the story but because Jude Law looks so good in it. No shame. 

.

.

6. Passing by Nella Larsen

8855588This I was actually able to get for like $0.99 on Amazon. It might still be that cheap, you should check it out if you’re interested.

It’s a short novel about two white-passing mixed race women in 1920s USA and their complicated friendship (that can be read as homoerotic). It deals with the issue of race and identity and lots of other interesting things. I really liked it. 

.

.

6. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

117661Another book by an Indian author. It’s about the childhood experiences of a pair of twins, Rahel and Estha, and their dysfunctional family. It jumps between their childhood in 1969 and 1993 when they’re grown up. 

You learn a lot about Indian history in this book and it’s quite interesting. It’s also about forbidden love, discrimination, class relations, and all that good stuff. 

I can’t describe it very well because it’s been a while since I read it. 

.

7. Foe by J.M. Coetzee

9651735A fanfiction re-imagination of Daniel DeFoe’s Robinson Crusoe where Susan Barton finds herself stranded on a deserted island with a man named Cruso and his tongueless slave Friday. 

It’s an epistolary novel, consisting of Susan’s attempts to make a book out of her experiences on the island and later off the island when she and Friday arrive in London together. 

.

.

.

8. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

38447Creepy feminist dystopian, what more do you need? It’s a modern classic set in the fictional Republic of Gilead in the US, fertile women have been turned into breeding machines ever since birth rates started plummeting. Offred is a Handmaid, i.e. she belongs to the aging Commander and must sleep with him once a month in the hopes of consuming a child. This is her story, told orally through audio tapes found after the fall of Gilead. 

I wrote my MA thesis on this book (as well as The Hunger Games) and there’s a lot I could say about it but I’ll limit myself. If you want to read an older dystopian novel with a female main character then here it is. 

.

9. The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle

392159Woo, a Sherlock Holmes story. I’ve only read this and two others, but I really like them, especially this one. 

Is it supernatural or not??? Mysterious. 

.

.

.

.

10. CLOUD ATLAS BY DAVID MITCHELL

6794How do you even explain this one. Several short-stories come together in this book but what makes it so intriguing is that you’re left with a WELL WHICH STORY IS THE REAL STORY feeling the more you read. You read one story, then it suddenly ends in the middle of things and another begins. In this new story, the last story you read is a fictional book, or maybe a movie. All the novellas are broken in half, and when you’ve read through all six of them, you get to the last part of each story. 

It’s definitely not easy to read at times but still very very interesting. There’s a movie adaptation too, but I don’t know how much sense that will make if you haven’t read the book. 


What’s your favorite book or short-story that you’ve had to read for school or university? And have you read any of the books on my list? Let me know! 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Required Reading

  1. Ashley says:

    I haven’t read any of these!
    A lot of them sound really good though and like interesting reads.
    I’ll definitely been checking some of them out.
    I did try to listen to the audiobook for Life of Pi, but I didn’t like the narrator, so I had to stop listening.

    Like

  2. Sarah says:

    Wuthering Heights is one of my favourite classics – not that I’ve read many, to be honest haha. I love the edition that you used in your post 😮 it’s stunning! I’ve been meaning to read Life of Pi for a while now – I watched the film and cried my eyes out -_-

    Great list! 😀

    Like

    • Anette says:

      I don’t personally own the edition I used but I just saw it and found it so gorgeous that I had to use it 😀 You should definitely read Life of Pi, it’s so good! The movie was wonderful too.

      Like

    • Anette says:

      I studied English literature so I had a lot of interesting classes through the years! I read Sherlock Holmes for my Crime Fiction course. My uni also offered a dystopian course but I never got around to take that one, boo.

      Like

Leave a Comment

