Book Traveling Thursday #3 | Favorite Childhood Book

It’s Thursday and time for another Book Traveling Thursday. This weekly meme was created by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. Visit their Goodreads group to learn more about Book Traveling Thursday 🙂

The rules are to share covers related to the weekly theme where you include the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite, and your least favorite. 

This week’s theme is a book you loved as a little reader. I actually saw that this was this week’s topic five minutes after posting this post about my favorite childhood reads, so this will work as some kind of companion to that. 

For this I picked The Face on the Milk Carton (1991), a middle grade/young adult mystery novel about a girl who finds out her parents kidnapped her when she was 3. I love-love-loved this when I was 12. 

ORIGINAL COVER

I think this is the original cover. I’m not quite sure how to be sure, haha. It could also be this? This cover makes it look ancient and I’m not into that, hah. It looks like a mystery novel though, no doubt. The Norwegian cover does not. 

COVER FROM NORWAY

I can’t believe I actually found this cover online, I thought I’d have to dig up my old copy and take a picture of it. Well, I’m sure you all know this is terrible. The Norwegian edition was published by a book club that I was a member of (they publish books targeted to young girls) and they did a lot of covers like this one. A lot. The floating milk cartons in the background are kind of hilarious. I think I saw on goodreads that the Germans have the same one.


FAVORITE COVER

I really like this edition from 2012 actually (from the US, I’m guessing). Even though they make it look like some type of horror novel or a very thriller-y thriller. It looks cool though. 

I also love this one to the right here that I found through a google search. I don’t know where or when it’s from, but the drawing actually looks like the character and it features the milk carton. 

..

.

.

..

LEAST FAVORITE COVER

I’m guessing that every edition probably isn’t on goodreads, but from what I can find there the Norwegian (and German, since it’s the same) is the worst. I’m also not feeling the original. 

What do you think? 🙂 

Also it’s my birthday today, woohoo \o/

8 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday #3 | Favorite Childhood Book

Leave a Comment

