The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

This tag was created by TheBookArcher

A few weeks back I watched pretty much all the unpopular opinions book tag videos on youtube. All right so I binge watched them when I was supposed to be writing my MA thesis, whatever. I love them. Though most of the time I laugh at the people clutching their pearls in the comments, I have resorted to some pearl clutching on my own, especially if it involves someone not liking Harry Potter…….. how dare you. 

Anyway, even though this tag is pretty old by now and everyone’s done it I’m itching to do it myself so here we go.

A popular book/series that you didn’t like

WHERE TO BEGIN. Cinder by Marissa Meyer was the first one that popped into my head because it’s a very popular book that I found meh. It was all right, I didn’t hate it, but I definitely didn’t love it either. I gave this 2.5 out of 5 stars. I could also add Fangirl [read my full length review], Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children [read my full length review], Looking For Alaska, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Thirteen Reasons Why, The Hobbit… A lot of these fit the “meh” category but I still think they count because I’m left feeling basically nothing for them. And I have to add Fifty Shades of Grey, because it’s legit the worst book I have ever attempted to read in my entire life. Kill it with fire. Though hating that book is hardly an unpopular opinion even though a loooot of people love it for some strange reason. 

.

A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love

.Mockingjay. I’m not going to claim that “everyone” hates this book, but a lot of people tend to either dislike or just like it less than the previous two. I really liked it, I gave it 4/5 stars. At first I was a bit miffed about the ending (you know, the epilogue) but after thinking about it, and writing an MA thesis on it, I’ve come to the conclusion that it ended really well and it made sense with Katniss’s character. If you’d like to know more about that then I’d consider writing a post about it and try to keep it short and not just recreate the chapter from my thesis. Just let me know in the comments. 

.

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did not want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like

.
I think what the original creator of this tag means by “an OTP you don’t like” is in fact a canon couple you don’t like, or a fandom OTP you don’t like. OTP means One True Pairing, so if you have an OTP you inherently love it. Anyway, fandom terminology aside, I picked Bella and Edward (Twilight) for this one. I wouldn’t say this is such an unpopular opinion anymore, but I couldn’t really think of anything else that I dislike as much. Also back when I read this series and actually liked it, I much rather wanted Bella to be with Jacob. In hindsight Jacob is terrible too, that one forced kiss in New Moon (I think) is disgusting.  

A popular book genre that you hardly reach for

Contemporary romance or “chick lit” about boy meets girl. I don’t really know what’s up with that because I read a ton of fanfiction and 99,9% of them are romance and it’s been 10 years and I’m still going strong. I think I’m only interested in romance if I already care about the characters and their relationship. If I don’t know them then I don’t care. 

A popular or beloved character that you do not like

Renly from A Song of Ice and Fire. Is he even loved by the people who read the books? I don’t know. But he’s a brat. As far as I remember he doesn’t come across that way in the show but in A Clash of Kings uggghh. Also Four from Divergent. Eh, nothing special, just a generic dude.

.

A popular author that you can’t seem to get into


I don’t think I have an author that I’ve tried to get into but failed. But read my answer to the question on a popular series I have no intention of reading, because it’s related to this one for me. I can only think of E. L. James. Damn, woman, spend some of that money of yours on some writing lessons maybe. 

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing

While on the topic of E. L. James and Twilight. The “stalking is love” trope. Stalkers aren’t cute, they aren’t hot, and it isn’t romantic. Please stop. If a guy is acting extremely creepy or suspicious and he gives you a bad vibe it isn’t okay just because he’s hot. And also please stop falling in love with these creeps on like the day after you met them.

A popular series that you have no interest in reading

.

Anything written by Cassandra Clare. I just can’t. There’s too much bad and dodgy stuff in her past for me to be able to look past that and enjoy her books. And I can’t say I’m too interested in The Mortal Instruments or The Infernal Devices either so I don’t think I’m missing much. If you like them that’s totally fine, it’s just not for me. 

.

.

The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie” but what movie or TV show adaptation do you prefer to the book?

.

Catching Fire! I didn’t like that book as much as I loved The Hunger Games but the movie was fantastic. Chills everywhere. The first movie annoys me with all its shaky cam action but the second one blew me away. I want to rewatch it right now. Catching Fire is actually my least favorite book in the series but this far it’s definitely my favorite movie out of the three. 

Agree or disagree with me? I’d love to discuss it in the comments 😀

I don’t know who’s done this before or not, but these are the people I tag. As always, feel free to not do the tag if you don’t want to. And if I didn’t tag you, consider yourself officially tagged! Link me your post if you do it because there’s nothing I love more than unpopular opinions. 

21 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. cwreads says:

    Oh my gosh yessss, another person who didn’t like Thirteen Reasons Why. I thought it was awful, so misguided and such a missed opportunity.

    YES ABOUT CATCHING FIRE. I’ve yet to see Mockingjay, but I really enjoyed Catching Fire (the movie), esp because of Jena Malone’s performance for Johanna Mason. 🙂

    Like

    • Anette says:

      It’s been a few years since I read Thirteen Reasons Why but it was sooooo boring! I just didn’t get it.

      CATCHING FIRE IS GREAT! Mockingjay too, I had chills all over several times through that one too. And yes, Jena Malone is amazing 😀 I also really love Natalie Dormer, what a fierce woman.

      Like

      • cwreads says:

        I have to agree. And I really hated how the author approached suicide. I’d never give this to my friends to read.

        I haven’t watched Mockingjay yet! I think I’m just waiting for Part 2 to come out so I can watch them both. 🙂 I love Natalie Dormer! Haven’t seen her as Cressida, but WOW her haircut. ❤ I love.

        Like

      • Anette says:

        I don’t really remember in detail how the suicide was approached, but I bet I’d agree with you.
        That’s a good idea 😀 And yes, she looks so good with that haircut, I love it.

        Like

  2. Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

    Thanks for tagging me, Anette! Hmm The Lunar Chronicles is probably my favourite series so I’d have to disagree with you there. And I also love The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I do have to agree with you on Thirteen Reasons Why though. I read it when it first came out so I don’t remember anything about it now but I know that I wasn’t very impressed with it.

    Like

    • Anette says:

      You’re welcome, hope you didn’t mind!

      Oh, I really wish I loved The Lunar Chronicles, I really wanted to and the books are all so gorgeous I’m dying to own them just because.

      I don’t remember much about that book either but I remember just feeling meh about it. Wasn’t impressed.

      Like

  3. ariastuckinwonderland says:

    Yeah. I don’t get the appeal of the “i-watch-you-sleeping-without-you-knowing” kind of guy. Oh wait no… I think it only appeals to Edward, but for the rest it just looks plain creepy and prevy. LOL.

    Great answers! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

