Book Cover Guessing Challenge

Book cover Guessing

Another incredibly fun tag that I couldn’t resist when I saw it on Kimsiang’s blog LazyCaramelReads. It was created by Trey Schnarr Books. Check out both their blogs 🙂

RULES:

  • Find books (typically well known) that you know little or nothing about and guess what they are about based on the cover and title
  • Compare it with the actual blurb

I think you can pick how many books you want to do, it wasn’t specified in the original challenge post.

I’m a pretty curious person so whenever a book gets really hyped up I tend to go over to goodreads and read the blurb and scan over some reviews, so I know the basics about a lot of books. Some I have forgotten what they are about though, and some I just never bothered to check out for some reason, so here are 5 books I know very little to nothing about. I will try to come up with more detailed guesses so it becomes more fun to read. 

BEAUTIFUL CREATURES by KAMI GARCIA & MARGARET STOHL

MY GUESS:

I don’t have a single clue what this is about. I’m pretty sure I even saw the movie trailer but I don’t remember. Uh, it’s a young adult novel of some sort. Fantasy. Ugh, why did I pick a book with a cover that says absolutely nothing lmao. I know there’s a group a teens. And they are… beautiful? And they’re a type of supernatural creature? There are probably love triangles in this book. I’m not getting many details out of this one, am I?

GOODREADS CORRECTS:

It seems to focus on a love story. There’s a mysterious girl and “deep powerful love” and the girl gets cursed on her 16th birthday. Apparently it’s about witches. Yawn. Next.

THE DARKEST MINDS by ALEXANDRA BRACKEN

MY GUESS:

This is a dystopian book with a female main character. The society is a typical dystopian society with a closed off community and a corrupt government with total control of its citizens (see: barbed wire on cover). The orange symbol on the book is the brand that gets burned into your skin when you turn a whatever age to show that you belong to this community, and it’s shaped like a devil’s fork because darkness. I don’t know who has the darkest minds, probably the government or whoever the “bad guys” are. 

GOODREADS CORRECTS:

So the girl is the one with the dark mind, apparently. She and her brother are on the run from a government “rehabilitation camp”. They arrive at whatever place with a mysterious leader. At least I was correct about all the basic dystopian stuff. 

THE WINNER’S CURSE by MARIE RUTKOSKI

MY GUESS:

I already know this one is some kind of dystopia but from the cover I’d have guessed it’s a romance novel, probably historical. But since I know it’s not, I’m going to guess this society has some kind of required balls or ceremony people have to partake in and someone gets crowned the winner ala homecoming queens/kings. And whoever wins (the female protagonist) it has to do something unpleasant, like go on a dangerous mission to do whatever. There’s probably romance in this book, she either meets him at the ball/ceremony/whatever or on the unpleasant journey. 

GOODREADS CORRECTS:

She is a slave apparently and “she can join the military or get married” LMAO. Close enough? This actually sounds pretty interesting but I avoid all books with huge dresses on the cover because no. If this had had another cover I’d have probably cared to read more about it a lot sooner. And I’m intrigued by the fact that it’s high fantasy. 

THE SUMMER I TURNED PRETTY by JENNY HAN

MY GUESS:

I have NO CLUE but let me come with an educated guess based on the title. Generic contemporary romance with a female lead and a hunky love interest. They’ve been best friends since childhood but he never saw her as any more than a child until the summer she turns 16/17/18 and BOOM suddenly looks ~like a woman and not the girl he always knew~. Basically this is the plot of every Harry Potter fanfic I read when I was 15. There’s some other guy too, and that is the guy she meets over the summer while on vacation. So now she has to pick between the new guy who was always into her but who only knows “the new” her and the guy she’s known all her life but who was never interested in her like that until she “turned pretty”. 

GOODREADS CORRECTS:

Apparently both guys are her bffs. And they’re apparently both brother figures and crushes. Nice. I’m guessing she turns pretty and suddenly they’re both into her, so basically what I guessed except it’s both of them. 

FALLEN by LAUREN KATE

MY GUESS:

I’m guessing this is one of those young adult “fallen angel” series. So it’s a paranormal romance book. What else is this plot about? Some broody and angsty dude with the regular plain girl, yada yada. The angel is probably the guy because for some reason these YA paranormal romances prefer making the dude the paranormal creature. 

GOODREADS CORRECTS:

Angsty girl meets boy with a dangerous secret and her life suddenly is a lot better. Who’d have guessed! She’s also at some school where everyone seems to have some sort of evil history. 


It took me surprisingly long to find books I knew little enough about and that I wanted to write about. I tag everyone who wants to do it! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Book Cover Guessing Challenge

Leave a Comment

