Review: Tabatha by Neil Gibson

Tabatha by Neil Gibson
Published by: TPub
Expected publication: November 3rd 2015
Pages: 141
Genres: Graphic Novel, Horror, Sci-Fi
Buy: Amazon
Rating:
 photo three stars_zpsohkkn6ww.png

READ A FREE SAMPLE HERE.

 photo greendots2_zpsskhe4bqu.png

I received a free eARC from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads synopsis

Luke works as a mailman in Los Angeles and moonlights as a thief – the empty houses on his postal route are rich, easy pickings for him and his friends. Everything goes to plan until one house turns out to not quite be so empty. The situation spirals out of control, leaving the happy go lucky thieves battling for their lives. And all because of Tabatha.

I don’t read graphic novels often, but I’ve always wanted to get into the habit. I read a lot of comics as a kid though and I had a manga phase that lasted a couple of years. I figured this sounded pretty cool and since it is a “read now” book on Netgalley I decided to go for it. 

The art is pretty awesome and colorful, I liked the look of it. I would have liked it to be a touch scarier at times, but that’s all right. I thought the villain looked quite stereotypical, and I don’t even read that many comic books or graphic novels but I know I’ve seen villains like that before. But for all I know it’s an intentional reference/homage so I can’t say anything about that. 

The story itself is pretty dark and contains a bit of gore. I like that, but some don’t, so I’m just putting it out there. But the genre is horror, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that it’s dark. 

I had no idea what this would be about except from what’s in the synopsis, and that’s how I prefer it. I like being surprised (as long as it’s a good surprise). I didn’t think Tabitha would be what she was, I thought that was really interesting. I liked that we got to see the villain’s backstory so we could gradually see him losing it. I think most people will see the ending coming, but it was still pretty creepy. I’d read a continuation to find out what happens. 

I also liked the relationship between the two brothers, I thought that was sweet. Oh, and the older brother’s music taste (Backstreet Boys and Carly Rae Jepsen) made me laugh. Loved that little detail. 

Something prevented me from being in love with it though, I’m not quite sure what, but I did enjoy it. Maybe I’d have liked there to be a bit more to the characters. 

3 thoughts on “Review: Tabatha by Neil Gibson

  1. Fari says:

    Ooh! I love darkness and gore! Also, the cover is so pretty and THE COLOURS! I can only imagine how beautiful the inside must be!! The characters were pretty flat, huh? I really don’t like stereotypical villians! I love it when I can understand the villian or why they’re doing what they’re doing. I want them to be a person not a faceless monster, y’know?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

