Top 5 Wednesday: Tropes You Hate

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey

I dislike these tropes in all media, be it books, movies, tv shows, you name it. These took longer to come up with than I’d have thought. I mean, I know what I don’t like, but of course you can never think of anything when you need it.

Oh, and if anyone could tell me how in the world I make multiple line breaks in wordpress then I’d greatly appreacite it. Why does wordpress hate the simplicity of the enter key 😦

Anyway, here are the top 5 tropes I hate, or just strongly dislike

41865

5. All Girls Want Bad Boys

Everyone is probably familiar with this one, it’s a trope in real life too. Yes, a lot of the time I prefer the “bad” or villainous characters to the heroes, but that’s not because I want to date them. All of these have their exceptions though, because there are some good girl/bad boy pairings out there that I really like. But there are just so many, we need more Ron Weasleys and Peeta Mellarks.

.

.

4. Bury Your Gays

Too few gay characters have happy endings. I still have many more books I need to read with LGBT characters in them but when it comes to movies I can actually only think of one where the gay couple (girls) ends up hand in hand. Hover for spoiler

That might just be my memory though.

3. Infodumps

I dislike these tropes in all media, be it books, movies, tv shows, you name it. These took longer to come up with than I’d have thought. I mean, I know what I don’t like, but of course you can never think of anything when you need it.

41865

2. Adaptation Personality Change

Is it an AU fanfiction? Great, go to town! Is it a movie adaptation of a book? Stop what you’re doing right now. Sometimes you can change a not-so-well-written character to something better, sure. I haven’t read the The 100 book(s???) but from what I’ve heard the tv show is a lot better and does many of the characters better justice. But let’s talk about Ron and Ginny Weasley. And Hermione Granger, who’s suddenly without flaw and some sort of Super Girl. And Dumbedore, you all know what I’m talking about (cough Goblet of Fire cough).

1. Stalking Is Love

Looking at you, Twilight and Fifty Shades of Grey. Why do people still think stalking is romantic in 2015. Oh yes, that’s right, because the books keep portraying it as romantic. I’m so done with this trope. Mmm, last night I broke in through your window to watch you sleep, isn’t that cute–

Bonus: Tropes I hate to love/guilty pleasure tropes

If you want to join Top 5 Wednesday take a look at the Goodreads group!
Leave a Comment

